My first full day in Paris: walking until it hurts


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
May 17th 2011
Published: May 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I walked SO MUCH today. I was out from 9:30 am until 9:00 pm. Some of that time was spent eating and sitting in the shade. But I would estimate at the very least eight hours of walking, probably closer to 10. In sandals. It was a nice day (sunny and 20 degrees) so I decided to take advantage of the outdoors. I find walking around a city, as opposed to taking the metro, is the best way to understand where things are in relation to each other.

Some highlights from the day:
• Ile de St. Louis : less touristy than Ile de la Cite, but lots of beautiful shops. I was told that many of the inhabitants of this island’s homes have been in the family for generations. So there is a great sense of community here, as opposed to the rest of urban Paris.

•The Conciergerie: a former Palace built in the 1100s and later used in the 1700s as a prision during the Terror. Prisioners trials were held at the adjacent Palais de Justice, then held here prior to their execution. The most famous prisioner was Marie Antionette. Her cell, more “luxurious” than the other prisioners’ is recreated.

•Place des Voyages: I enjoyed visiting all the (free) independent art galleries that surround the square. Also there was an old mansion called the Hotel de Sully on the outside of the quarter, the courtyard is open free to the public. Any time I find free activities in an expensive city like Paris is always a highlight.

I decided today to scrap my plans of visiting Strasbourg. It is disappointing, because the city looks beautiful. But with the memories of transportation and lugging my suitcase up and down stairs, I think it will be more relaxing to stay the extra two days in Paris, and head straight for Dijon.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



19th May 2011

je suis jealous!
it sounds like you're having an amazing time! make sure you eat a dozen macarons for me!
19th May 2011

Wow, jam packed!
Sounds like a terrific day Carolyn! My feet hurt just thinking about it :)
20th May 2011

re: je suis jealous
I had my first macaron yesterday. It lived up to the hype.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb