Aujourd'hui


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
July 9th 2010
Published: July 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Monmartre
-Moulin Rouge
-Sacre-Coeur
-Au Lapin Agile ?

Paris
-Centre Pompidou
-Musee d'Orsay
-Champs Elysees
-Arc de Triomphe
-Tour Eiffle

It's 10:39am so I better get going

_____________________
Nope, got blissfully stuck at the Centre Pompidou Musée for 4 hours.
1) Guy from le organization de homosexualities came up to me and in French said "..." so I said "Uh, parlez vous Anglais?" He said yes but then mumbled and still spoke quickly but he was selling poem books to raise money pour awareness against gay prostitution, and there was a party tonight benefiting the cause. I didn't have enough money and he didn't seem to understand that I was interested in the cause and would like to help. He walked away a bit miffed I think.
2) Then walking into the Musée, or what I now refer to myself as "My Dream Home," this guy said something to me, but I waived it off thinking he was talking to the girl behind me - a sister or something. Nope, I was wrong because when I assended the escalator to scan my ticket (18-25 discounted prix) to enter the exibits, he was waiting pour moi. He said something en français then almost litterally sticking my face into a guide book he passed by and said "Welcome to Paris." Normally I would humor a guy - free food is always good - met this one was in un autre payée et je had no intention of speaking to McCreepster. He persisted and I decided in all my amazingness to buy a personal tour - aka Stop-Talking-To-Me headphones. The exibit was ah-maze-ing; so awmazing in fact that I'll have to talk to you about it and upload pictures when I get back (they dissapear when I connect the usb cord 😞 )

Then I did the Arc de Triomphe and saw them practicing for Bastille Day festivities. Headed to the Champs but it was ick parce que the stands pour people to observe the fireworks from the Tour Eiffel.

------------------------------------

Oh la la cette smell.


Do people not know about personal space?
Skipped Monmartre parce que it was tres complicated pour moi right now.
Go figure, the one gay guy I find...I could not understand his English.

Et le nerd found her kriptonite.


Forget Le Louvre! waste of time when there's all this to explore. Centre Pompidou is where I'll be for the remainder of my trip! And of course I attract the creeper FrenchDude. Does anyone have repellent? I've never gone to a musée and bought a personal tour headset but 4 dollars to get the creeper gone was money well spent.

Notre Dame never looked so small, and clean.


(like sea grass around your ankles in the ocean, tourist's trash blew around my legs apres leaving Notre Dame yesterday. You can see the Eiffel Tower from here!

I saw Pollock and got giddy 😊!


(I've given up on the original plans pour le remainder of le hour et will just see what time it is quand I'm done ici. One of the art pieces was playing a static-ie "Allejandro.")
"The Deep" (1953) looks sad, covering something up, frustration, unfinished, pissed, not at all what the personal-tour guide said. He was killed in an accident 3 years later.

I'm hungry.


Additional photos below
Photos: 141, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Acr de TriompheAcr de Triomphe
Acr de Triomphe

looked like the outline of the T.E.
Acr de TriompheAcr de Triomphe
Acr de Triomphe

Cool, I say YES


12th July 2010

repellent: the key to keeping french guys off your face
Hey Siobhan! Adore your blog and your very eloise-goes-to-paris-french, very much like mine. I appreciate the art. In tout cas, The repellant. Here's the trick. Never. EVER EVER EVER EVER. No matter how cute, no matter how Yves Saint Laurent, no matter how maybe-we'll-get-married-and-ill-be-francaise-finally...NEVER look any man in France in the eye. When I first got here it took me months to understand, but the trick is simple. They're looking for you. They are! And all the good ones are hidden in their mother's house. Why do you think French guys go to Montmarte? To wait for cute American girls to sell into slavery. Also, if you give a cute French guy your phone number, you are apparently engaged. So don't...they'll eat up all your minutes. GROS BISOUX ks

Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0844s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb