TOUR 3 – La France – SAT, 25 JUN 2022 – Day 1


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
June 25th 2022
Published: June 25th 2022
Edit Blog Post

I really never have had anything, either specifically nor in general, against France nor its people; however, there never has been anything (other than the World War I & II sites) that has made me pine for a visit. Only recently, since the airing of the Tour de France on television, have I even learned of the existence of the Pyrenees Mountains. Rolling countryside covered with grape arbors has never given my eyeballs an adrenaline rush, pictures of the architecture of eastern Europe have been more intriguing than those I have seen of France, the portions of fine French food I have seen served on TV seemed totally inadequate and “Boone’s Farm” (at a buck a gallon) seemed to accompany blondes and brunettes equally well during my high school years. Given that France has been a major player in world history for decades, I jumped at the chance to add it to my itinerary when the opportunity arose. After all, the horse’s mouth is more persuasive than barnyard gossip.

From Globus, “Introduction – This rollicking tour of France gets the festivities started in Paris and keeps the entertainment coming for 16 fun-filled days. Good food, great wine, and memorable activities are all part of the package on our most in-depth vacation to France. After painting the town rouge in Paris, at a renowned Cabaret venue, head toward the northern coastline for a touching visit of the Normandy Beaches as well as a visit to the fairytale setting of the Abbey of Mont St. Michel. Delight in the moat-surrounded Chenonceau Castle, the reds and whites of Bordeaux, and the sparkling blue waters from the west coast to the French Riviera. Stroll through perfect medieval towns, the pilgrimage site of Lourdes and along the Promenade des Anglais in Nice. Top this off with the lavender-hued countryside of Provence and a private cruise on the Rhone. Will you have an absolute ball on this encompassing tour of France? The answer is oui!”

Uncle Larry says, “SAT, 25 JUN 2022 was the first day of the 16-day La France tour of, yup, France, but there were no scheduled activities until the, “Welcome to Paris” event at 1700 hours so I had virtually the entire day to play tourist in Paris and to make the transfer to the site of the welcome reception.” From Globus, “Day 1: ARRIVE IN PARIS, FRANCE - Welcome to Paris! At 5 pm, meet your Tour Director and traveling companions for a welcome drink.”

This will be another small group tour with a dozen or so participants. It should be fun. Sorry folks, no photos to entertain.

Advertisement



30th June 2022

Morocco
Hi Larry Just found your blog so Road in to say howdy and hope you’re having a great time. Francis somewhere I have never wanted to go also but then I watched some thing that made me change my mind. However every trip I’ve looked at it has such a huge single supplement charge that it’s put me off. Well hope everything goes well in the future and I’ll keep up with your blog
3rd July 2022

Paris
Hi Larry, enjoy France. We will be in Paris this Saturday. Happy Travels.

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb