Paris - city of light


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 29th 2013
Published: September 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Evie & Sienna playing in their bedroom Evie & Sienna playing in their bedroom Evie & Sienna playing in their bedroom

Those darling grandchildren of mine who can be both angels and devils dependant on which mood takes them!
I'm now nicely ensconced in my lovely little Paris apartment which is in the 'coeur de Montmartre'. Since I left Copenhagen so early in the morning, well before Sienna & Evie were out of bed, I thought I should start with a picture of them both. Grandma misses you both!!

Getting out of CDG airport was really easy; there wasn't even any customs to go through but maybe that was because I only arrived from Copenhagen. And finding my way here on public transport was easy too but then again I must be an expert at it now.

I've done a bit of grocery shopping, found an ATM to gain some readies and climbed up numerous steps to Sacre Coeur. I even went inside this time which I can't recall doing before. Being a Sunday, and with Sacre Coeur such a favourite with tourists, the place was teemed with people. A few police were wandering around keeping on eye on us all and carrying Tasers, whistles, guns and capsicum spray, doubtless ready for anything but all was quiet. Well not literally as there was one particular busker who was a whiz with a football, balancing it on his head, twirling it on a stick and other such tricks while climbing up a lamp post, all the while making it look so easy. The crowd went wild...it would be nice to have a dollar for every camera shot being taken of him. At least he appeared to fill his coffers with all the donations he received.

My apartment has loads of fantastic books in both English and French plus some fantastic DVDs so I'm enjoying listening to music as I write this. Best away though as I want an early night tonight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Sacre CoeurSacre Coeur
Sacre Coeur

As you can see I wasn't the only one there!


30th September 2013

Fabulous busker! Have you got any more photos of him? I'd love to show them to a football/soccer-crazy friend.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 5; ; mem: 1.1mb