Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
July 22nd 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

GD and I caught the overnight train from Biarritz to Paris and arrived at 7am Saturday morning. Jumped on the Metro and headed to the hotel, thankfully they let us in early.

We started the day by visiting the Arc de Triomphe, which is just such an amazing sight. I found it overwhelming walking up the stairs of the metro to see such a sight. I think I had one of those moments that catapults back to reality and the reality was that I actually made it Paris. It certainly made me realise just how fortunate I am to have the life that I've got.

From the Arc we made our way down the Champs Elysees to The Louvre. We saw the Mona Lisa, I have to admit I was expecting the size of the painting to be larger than it actually is. Three hours later, we had seen the Egyptian Antiquities, the Greek and Roman Antiquities, the paints and the drawings. The place is massive; you could easily spend 2 full days and still not see everything.

For dinner we jumped on a cruise that went down the Seine, to get another perspective of Paris. We then made our way to the Eiffel tower, chilled out in park looking up at the skyline. As it begins to get dark the tower has all these lights that flash for 10 mins on the hour every hour after 10 pm.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



25th July 2006

Cool Pictures
Hi Naomi, Excellent pictures, looks like you guys are having a great time. I am now very jealous as we were only there last year and realise what a great time i had. Cheers Chris

Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb