Miscellaneous Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 29th 2006
Published: June 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sinorama - ParisSinorama - ParisSinorama - Paris

This is the outside of the restaurant. It's in the 13th arrondisement of Paris.
This morning I went to the US Embassy here in Paris to renew my passport. It should come back to me in two weeks. A new fresh passport is an exciting thing - when it expires in ten years where will I have been? (Thailand and Laos for sure and I hope some other interesting places as well.

Anyway, speaking of the US Embassy it is sad but true that in the 20 years I’ve lived in Paris they’ve really gone downhill.

Does anyone remember the Marines? Used to be that they were the ones who checked you through to whatever service you were going to. I think they were picked on the basis of how good-looking they were because they were all tall and fit and really cute. Nowadays, there is a just bunch of short skinny French people in delivery boy uniforms…they seem efficient enough but really it's just not the same.

Also used to be that you could show up with your passport and have it renewed right there in about 45 minutes. The waiting room was nice and comfortable too.

Well, not anymore, now it’s just this really depressing room with plastic chairs
Sinorama - InterieurSinorama - InterieurSinorama - Interieur

This is the inside. They have those typical big round tables.
and litter all over the floor - it actually has quite the third world feel to it. And, you have to have your documents sent back to the States and wait two weeks.

And finally, what’s with the French people working in American Services? Why don’t they have Americans working there? I deal with the French on a daily basis and have done so for the past 20 years so when I go to the Embassy I would really like to see some friendly service - it is America after all. The French don’t do friendly service, it’s not in their nature and it was most especially not in the nature of the very uptight woman who waited on me today.

I suggest they hire some friendly charming people from the southern states of US to work in American Services - what a pleasure that would be.

So, Mr. Ambassador if you are listening, just my two cents.

I’m also posting some photos of my adventurous eating experiences over the past year that I’ve been planning for Asia…mmm duck’s tongue.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Duck's tonguesDuck's tongues
Duck's tongues

This is what makes the place so authentic - and yes we ate them!
Bland fishBland fish
Bland fish

This dish was pretty bland - I've got a new favorite Asian place, perhaps I'll go and get some photos this weekend.
TofuTofu
Tofu

And here is the sizzling tofu


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb