In Paris (France, not Hilton) Day 4 and Day 5


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
February 27th 2006
Published: March 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Day 5 begins. Today was my museum day. Some people don't like museums, I do. The Louvre was a must see for me.

The Louvre


As I said in an earlier blog, this time of the year Paris is not too crowded. It only took us about thirty minutes to go through the security checkpoint in the pyramid of the Louvre, and purchase our tickets on the main floor. A little tip: there are automated ticket machines that have much shorter lines than the regular ticket booths, but they only take 5's, 10's, and 20's. I had a 50 so I had to stand in the long line.

I'm not going to say much about the Louvre. With over 30,000 individual exhibition pieces, I couldn't even begin to describe a fraction of what there was to see there. The first thing I saw, as every first time visitor to the Louvre must, was the Mona Lisa. Next I went to have my picture taken in front of the Venus de Milo. After that I spent the next few hours just wandering around, and trying to take in the magnificence. Paintings by Italian masters, sculptures by the ancient Romans, Egyptian,
USAUSAUSA

Yes, I know, we're dorks.
Mesopotamian, and Asian artifacts...one day just wasn't enough. I did get to see a special exhibit of the works of Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres. Very beautiful. My favorite part of the exhibit was the way they presented the original sketches that led up to the final painting.

Centre Pompidou


The Centre Pompidou was the second place we visited. It houses the modern art museum. I have to say I've become somewhat of a fan of modern or contemporary art. I'm an engineer by training, I know absolutely nothing about art. I don't try to interpret anything that the artist was trying to say. I just enjoy seeing the creativity that some of these artists possess. Maybe it's because my mind just isn't geared that way. Variety is the spice of life. I got to see some works by Picasso, Pollock, and Warhol...I loved it. Unfortunately, after a full day at the Louvre and fighting a cold at the same time, I just didn't have the energy that the Centre Pompidou deserved. I'd really like to go back. Steve, Janet...are you listening?

Paris at Night


I know that I've said a lot about how beautiful Paris is, but I
The LouvreThe LouvreThe Louvre

Here I am, finally inside the Louvre. You can see the main entry area behind me. That's where you buy your tickes and everything. Above that you can just make out the base of the glass pyramid.
have to say something about Paris at night. It is beautiful. Yester

The Paris Metro
I have to say a little something about the Paris metro...it was far more entertaining than I expected. The quality of the performers in the metro is very good. I know that Parisians probably hate them, but I always found something amusing in the metro. Like the time we were in the last car of a subway, and looking up saw a guy performing a puppet show in the next car up. We had a long way to ride, so Daniel and I hopped out at the next stop, and ran up to the adjoining car. Well, the guy can't perform his act in the same car every time so he had moved up one car also. We chased this guy from the back of the train all the way to the front...saw him three times. Hilarious.




Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

The LouvreThe Louvre
The Louvre

FOGGIA - Sanglier. Remind you of anything? Wooo Pig Sooie
The LouvreThe Louvre
The Louvre

Hercule Combattant l'Hydre
The LouvreThe Louvre
The Louvre

I didn't get the name of this one.
The LouvreThe Louvre
The Louvre

The Venus de Milo
The LouvreThe Louvre
The Louvre

This was neat. The ring is a magnifiying glass to get a closer look.
The LouvreThe Louvre
The Louvre

The view through the magnifying glass. This was neat. The black cylinder on the left was used as a sort of signature. When rolled across wet clay it left the imprint on the right.
The LouvreThe Louvre
The Louvre

Le Code de Hammurabi
The LouvreThe Louvre
The Louvre

Napoleon III's residence.
Centre PompidouCentre Pompidou
Centre Pompidou

PABLO PICASSO - Femmes devant la mer 1956
Centre PompidouCentre Pompidou
Centre Pompidou

PABLO PICASSO - No couche 1967
Centre PompidouCentre Pompidou
Centre Pompidou

ANDY WARHOL - Ten Lizes 1963
Centre PompidouCentre Pompidou
Centre Pompidou

ANNETTE MESSAGER - Mes voeux 1989
Centre PompidouCentre Pompidou
Centre Pompidou

JACKSON POLLOCK - Number 26 A, black and white 1948


7th March 2006

Dude
I straight up dig the museum scene. The last art museum I went to was years ago in St. Louis, MO, with Jessica Webb (Burgess). Anyway, had some nice pictures, but hardly a comparison. Glad you are enjoying yourself.
11th March 2006

Language
Hello! I'm a 15 year old girl name Andrea and I'm going to be going to Europe this summer with my aunt. I'm very interested in Art. I found your site and absolutely loved it! I was wondering what language you spoke the most? And what was your favorite museum or if there is anything that you think I should see. I don't know a whole lot about Europe. But Paris is the first place on our list. :) Then Italy. Hope to hear from you Andrea

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb