Recap: My Weekend in Paris (plus the announcement of my summer internship!!!)


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
April 14th 2009
Published: April 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bonjour Everyone!!!!!

I am officially back in the UK and am extremely excited to not only recap my weekend in Paris, but also announce my exciting internship for this summer.

Friday morning arrived, and my parents and I boarded the EuroStar, and headed out to the wonderful city of Paree (its the only way I thought I could phonetically spell how I was saying it out loud) . After a 2 hour journey (which my dad and I slept about 1 hour and 50 minutes of), we arrived and went to our hotel room. Our hotel room was quintessential french (i think, who I am to say?). Check out the pics. Our views consisted of the Arc de Triomphe and the amazing Eiffel Tower. With the former being closer to our hotel, we dropped off our bags and headed there. It was massive! The line was WAY TOO LONG to go to the top of the Arc, so we explored the exterior, took some pics and moved on.

Our next stop....was lunch. We each got a strawberry champagne drink (YUM) and toasted to our vacation. We met a nice couple from Virginia...or Maryland....or Delaware, I have no idea, whichever one, they were lovely and a pleasant conversation ensued. They departed and we finished our lunch before venturing off to our next location....the Louvre.

We journeyed there via metro, attempting to give their system a try. The ticket machine gave us problems, so that was the last time we tried that. After arriving at the museum, we did what most tourists do. Instead of spending 5 weeks there, which you completely could, we enjoyed the art on the way to the Mona Lisa (which was a lot smaller than expected) and then enjoyed the art on the way to the Venus de Milo, and then peaced out.

Deborah had recommended a place called Angelina's, where you can get good hot chocolate and desert. So we found the place, and of course, since food was involved, stopped. It was delicious!!! Thanks my fellow "D."

We then made our way to the most famous structure in all of Paris, and arguably France.....the public restroom. Just kidding! The Tour Eiffel, or as us American's refer to it as, the Eiffel Tower.

What a sight! We arrived, took plenty of pictures and was about to get in line to go up it....when it started to rain. So we decided to return there in the morning to complete the journey, but called it a day for now. (check out the pics, but PLENTY more of the E.T. to come). By this time it was getting to the early evening. We went back to our hotel, relaxed for a little, and then out for dinner and drinks. Our dinner was nothing short of delicious, and then we headed back again to rest up for our busy day awaiting.

As per the second part of this blog entry, I am extremely excited to announce that this summer.............

Oh!!! I totally forgot to mention, in a recent list put out Wed the 8th of April: In ALL of London...yes, the entire thing....Elgin Ave, the street I live on, was ranked 3rd in a list of the top 10 most desirable streets in London to live on!!!!!! How amazing!!!!!!!

Ok, back to this summer. I am extremely excited to announce that this summer..... I will be interning at Bravo!!! This is a great opportunity and I cannot wait to start!!!

More on Paris coming soon...

Trivia Answer: Approximately 213 miles.
Trivia Question: What does the pressure that the Eiffel Tower puts on the ground equate to human wise? (weird stated question, but answer might shock you)

Londoner,
Sir Darren Nigel Goldberg III of Maida Vale




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Mom and I at LunchMom and I at Lunch
Mom and I at Lunch

With Creepster behind us.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb