PARIS: The Finale (my parents and my adventure)


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
April 18th 2009
Published: April 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Welcome back, this update is overdue because I've been busy with work (yea right, not this time), because of the busy, yet very enjoyable week I had with my parents.

We awoke earlish in the morning on a beautiful day in Paris to head back to the Eiffel Tower to go up it. When we arrived, the line wasn't too bad, and this happened. Out in the distance, I saw a familiar face...then two familiar faces. Victoria and Lindsey were also in Paris, and also happening to climb (and by climb i mean take an elevator) up the Eiffel Tower at that same time. I tried to get them to cut in line with us (I know....bad Darren) but they met a friend the day before, and were meeting up with her. She was in line behind us, so they lost out. After waiting about an hour, which really isn't too bad considering, we boarded the elevator, and ascending into the abyss.

Arriving atop the famous Tour Eiffel, we (my parents and I in case this is your first time reading) met up with the girls again and took plenty of pictures. The view was amazing and breathtaking. Take a look at the pictures.

We then departed Vic and Linds, and headed off to the Musee d' Orsay. The museum, in my opinion, and some other people who we came across, is better than the Lurve. It was a more enjoyable place to be and the painting were much more interesting. They even had an exhibit on the Opera House with a miniature model. I love miniature models (don't ask me why), so I spent a decent amount of time looking at it. Picture of it attached.

Following the museum, we stopped to get lunch and wine. More emphasis on the wine, before finding our way to Notre Dame. The line was WAY too long to even think about going in, but we stood outside, took in the sights and the structure, and then went for ice cream. It was sooo good!!!

Next stop was the Picasso Museum, which was filled with.....get this, works of Picasso! It was actually kind of small and a little disappointing, oh well.

Time flew by as we walked around the city, stopping in some stores to shop. Dinner time arrived (which brought upon GREAT food) and then we headed to the Eiffel Tower one last time. Since it was right near our hotel, we had to go again and look at it up close at night and take pictures of it lit up.

The night concluded and we retired to our hotel.

Sunday brought us to the Jewish Museum, then a walk through a huge park/garden (a stop for food), a trip to the American Embassy (where we were not even allowed to take pictures), and a stroll back up the main streets to our hotel where we got our bags and headed for the train ride station (where a french woman started yelling at me for ordering food at the wrong place than where we should've because the chairs we were sitting in) confused? I was too.

After a nice train ride home, I arrived back at the flat and thus concluded my weekend in Paris.

Old Fashion Bonus Story!!!
Last night (Saturday April 18th) I went out with a bunch of the girls from the flat, got to a bar where the bouncer proclaimed we all need to present IDs. He studies the girls IDs intensely, then looks at me and waves off my license saying "You're fine." HAHAHAHA it was great!!!

Trivia Answer: The pressure of an average person sitting on a chair!
Trivia Question: How many people (not including my flatmates or I) spent at least one night in my flat this semester.

Londoner,
Sir Darren Nigel Goldberg III of Maida Vale (which thanks to my brother now appears engraved on a flask!!!)



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb