Au Revoir Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
March 24th 2009
Published: March 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post






We were on a mission this morning to finally climb the steps of Notre Dame and take pictures from the top. They only let 20 people up at a time, so the wait was 2 hours the other afternoon when we visited. We planned to get there right at opening today and found the line to already be around 30-40 people long. Not too bad…about a 30 minute wait, BUT the issue was it was cold this morning and the wind gusts felt hurricane-like. With the wind chill, I am imagining it was in the teens, so we were freezing. I actually bought a scarf from a gift shop across the steet. When we finally got in, I don’t think I ever wanted to climb 200 steps more in my whole life…just to warm up!! The view was just great, and I would add it to any must see Paris list. There is nothing like being up there with the gargoyles and the view of the city.

We stopped to have a cappuccino before going to the Musee d’Orsay. This is another place that Matt had yet to visit, so we had to catch it this time. Since the clock(s) are really the main attraction, the rest of the exhibits didn’t really hold his attention, so we weren’t there very long. This is the time to mention that the Paris Museum pass is the way to go and you don’t feel as guilty popping in and out of museums since the cost of the pass is literally entrance fees to 2-3 museums if you bought the tickets individually. We got the 4 day pass and it was great…no waiting in lines either.

Lunch was at Café Varenne near the Musee Rodin. One of my fav celeb chefs (Ina Garten) recommended it. We had a good lunch there: I had a salad with goat cheese, prosciutto, potatoes, haricot verts, and vinaigrette. Matt had a steak with shallot sauce.

Musee Rodin was the next stop. I wanted to go back to see my favorite of his…The Cathedral. Another moving piece for me, and the setting of the museum makes it all the more special. We would’ve liked to sit outside and enjoy the great garden area there, but the wind was still making it a bit too chilly! We walked down to Invalides and the Musee Armee and spent an hour there before heading back the the hotel for a nap and travelblogs!

We had a nice last dinner in Paris just past the Pantheon. A small local fondue restaurant we’ve passed several days in a row that is always crowded. Nice quaint atmosphere. There was a house cat wandering around and a father/son team running the front of the house. The fondue was just perfect, and naturally we got a chocolate one for dessert as well. Our walk back to the hotel gave us a chance to see La Tour Eiffel from afar and say Au Revoir to Paris.

It was so wonderful to be back here. It just felt comfortable and more enjoyable than ever. We were able to enjoy the city on a different level this time based on our last visits. I forgot to mention what I missed this time. The smell of the metro was always one of my most profound memories and what I looked forward to the most in returning (weird, I know) but there was no smell anymore?? That is because they are updating all of the metro trains to run on tracks now, not tires and the tires is what gave the distinct aroma. There was only one line we rode on that in the station I got my fix of the “Paris Smell.”

Je t’aime Paris




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

The Pantheon from atop Notre DameThe Pantheon from atop Notre Dame
The Pantheon from atop Notre Dame

I think this is my favorite picture from this trip so far. The fogginess comes from zooming up using my fish-eye lens.
The Cathedral by Rodin The Cathedral by Rodin
The Cathedral by Rodin

Erins favorite, maybe she has a fixation with hands.


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb