Jour Trois


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
March 24th 2009
Published: March 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: The Hands Matt didn't take a picture 13 secs
We slept in this morning and started our day off with the best shower we’ve ever had in Europe..yeah!!! Normally you are stuck with a handheld sprayer that hooks on at the bottom of the tub. This hotel (go Best Western!) has a hook for the sprayer up high like an American shower-it’s virtually a real shower. Breakfast was at Angelina’s across from Jardin de Tuileries. They are known for having the best hot chocolate in Paris. Words cannot even describe how yummy it was…no comparison to that powdered mix we call hot chocolate. Actually, can we even call ours hot chocolate now? No, Paris has shown us that powder is not hot chocolate. Besides that, they also had what Matt & I both think is the best croissant of our lives as well.

With our bellies full and tempted to go grab a chair in Tuileries and go back to sleep, we hopped the metro to Montmarte. We went back to Sacre Couer, and Place du Tetre. We bought a series of small paintings from a nice lady and had lunch (crepes…ham, egg, & cheese…and of course a Nutella one too). We wandered around a little more before deciding to go to La Ciemtiere du Pere Lachaise. I went the first time I came to Paris in 1996, but the times that Matt & I have come together we’ve never made it. It’s about a 50 min metro ride with all of the stops. It is 105 acres and you could get lost and spend hours there if you wanted. A few of the most famous graves are: Jim Morrison, Chopin, and Oscar Wilde. Of all of the cemeteries we’ve ever visited, it has been the best and had the most famous people. I must tell this little story too: When I came in 96, I saw a grave that moved me..I took a picture of it. To me, it was the ultimate sign of true love, two graves side-by-side with hands on the top of each joined….love never dies. So today as we were wandering around I thought to myself that I should have dug out my old photos to get the name. It would be impossible to find in the thousands of graves, and maze of tiny paths within the 105 acres. Literally two minutes after that thought, there it was in front of me….I still can’t believe it! (oops I forgot to take a pic with my digital camera, just did it on the Rolleiflex..Matt) Overall, this is one of the best things we’ve done in Paris….far exceeded Matt’s expectations and a photo paradise.

The end of our day was not so hot. Matt was a sweetie and surprised me with tickets to Moulin Rouge. After coming to this city several times and not seeing the famous cancan show it was time….so he thought. Well, I won’t go into much detail except that to quote Matt, “it sucked ass!” Yes it did, and the Rockettes in NYC are a 1000x better, and they aren’t even topless!













Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



30th March 2009

Cemetary of Pere Lachaise
I've always wanted to see this cemetary. Now I have. It must be very cool with all those beautiful grave stones and statuary. Your photos of Sacre Coeur were great. I like that neighborhood very much, but I haven't been there for a while. It's a bit far from where I mainly hang out and that is the Latin and Tour Eiffel neighborhoods. Of course, like you I like the Louvre palace grounds. I'm enjoying traveling with you.

Tot: 0.412s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 17; qc: 92; dbt: 0.1747s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb