Les vacances


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 27th 2008
Published: October 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So my computer is dead...by the time I have a computer of my own again, I'll have forgotten how to type on an American keyboard. I wonder if I can get the company to give me the French version of the keyboard if they'll replace it? Which they may or may not, don't know yet....

Okay, enough whining. I am on vacation. I intend to do my very large amount of homework, go for walks, and otherwise be lazy. I'm hoping that I will discover a small bookstore in "downtown" Mennecy, but I have a feeling that won't happen. I think, however, that there may be a small video rental place, so that has possibilities. If not, I'll probably spend time on youtube, when Jessie isn't instant messaging with her friends on MSN. And I may or may not get together with a friend or two. Most of them are on vacation, several hours away, and I'm not really sure who's left.

Clara and Alex are at the local childcare center, so the house was quiet after they left this morning.

I've been reading the headlines every time I log in to my email. The economy is worrying, but it's just as bad, if not worse, here, I think. Every night, there's a new story on another demographic group who are in trouble because of all this.

Eight days to the election, the suspense is killing me, especially because I'm not in the middle of it all. The French press is very pro-Obama, but they aren't vilifying McCain, either. Everyone I've met here likes Obama, "because he'll change things" is an approximate translation of what they say.

Oh, Fontainbleau was nice, but I wish I hadn't tried to take notes, I would have understood a lot more of what the guide was saying. Clara's B-day is actually tomorrow, it wasn't friday, but she's been excited for a week, and acting up a bit. we'll see how that works out tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb