The usual stuff...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
November 13th 2008
Published: November 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I haven't updated in a while...sorry....

I have now been back to school for nearly a week, but so far it hasn't been the usual exhausting kind of thing-last Thursday was a field trip, Tuesday was Armistice (Veterans Day), and today, the teacher with whom I have four of my five hours of classes is absent, so I don't have a class until 4PM! 😉

Literature: amazing how much you miss when you don't know the language you're supposed to be reading in. I was completely lost through the whole book, and then I find out that the three most difficult chapters are about medieval education, humanist education, and what a humanist Utopia would look like. Go figure.

History/Geo: It's becoming obvious that the teacher is not a fan of the US economic system or system of government. We have moved on from the industrial revolution to "France in the world today" but are taking a brief break in order to discuss the US elections. The universal opinion of people here is that Obama is wonderful, and will bring change.

Math:boring

Science: actually haven't had it, because it's only one day a week, which happens to be Tuesday.

PE:same. One session of badminton left. Yes!

Philosophy: we have read a translation of the "allegory of the cave" and are now onto a unit on how to write a philosophical dissertation. They're big on methodology here. I can't seem to get a handle on the format, which is frustrating.

German: two months, two chapters: I can now introduce myself, and ask for/recieve directions in German. Theoretically...

English: the US does NOT teach grammer thouroughly at all! For example, who knows what "modals" are? I didn't. And apparently we're going to start working with proverbs and expressions soon, which is good.

Other stuff:
Last thursday's field trip was to a stage adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. It was really bad. It was an all female cast, and they would have been really good, had they remembered that the AUDIENCE needed to hear them. The lights and costumes were awful. There was a contingent of guys in the back rows who whistled between every scene. Apparently manners aren't neccessary when you know the people on stage....

Yesterday I went to with Jessie to her sport practice. She does this thing that's a cross between gymnastics and dance, and it's actually pretty cool. I kind wish I could do that, but I'd need a lot of work on flexibility first. And hand-eye coordination. That's kinda important.

Half the time I'm thinking in french now, except for English class. I manage to keep it up pretty well, but then someone says a word I don't know, or a little light bulb goes off in my head and says "oh! I'm thinking in French!" and I have to work to get back into it.

'Til next week, or thereabouts.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb