First day in Paris!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
May 25th 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

dorm roomdorm roomdorm room

my closet, i dont think i have ever had such an EMPTY closet in my entire life!
Hello everyone! The keyboards here are set up a little different so I apologize now for any mistakes!

My flight wasnt too bad. I had all three seats to lay across for the 8 hour flight. I listened to my ipod and dozed off for most of the flight. airplane food was surprisingly delicious and i had a nice glass of wine! flighing over the french countryside was straight out of a movie. there were perfectly manicured green fields and little french farm villages. i even saw some beautiful french chateu. when i went through customs the very attractive french officers mentioned my hair color differences in my visa and passport, you were right mom i should have never gone brunette.
I found my group in the airport easily, and all of my luggage made it to Paris! of course the first friend i make in the group is one of the boys in my program.... i just always seem to get along better with guys! his name is brett and he is from boston, attends school in new york. he has been taking french for 13 years so i told him he was my new best friend!
a group
dorm roomdorm roomdorm room

my bed is so low to the ground!
of us loaded up in the first shuttle to the dorms. when we arrived at the US dorm there were 5 to 7 steps to climb before entering the building. brett went first with his one piece of luggage, and i followed thinking i could pull all three of my suitcases at once. i was wrong and procedeed to fall onto my huge suitcase and drop one of them down the stairs. everyone was concerned but i started cracking up, once they realized i thought it was funny they began to laugh at me as well. so all of us girls began an assebly line to haul all of our luggage up the stairs! i told them how surprised i was that it took this long for me to fall or trip, i thought for sure i would have face planted in the middle of the airport! they thought it was funny but i am completely serious. we then waited for our supervisor to meet us.
i unpacked my things and fell asleep. unfortunately i slept through our brief dorm meeting but later found out i wasnt the only one! i called home took a shower and then my friend
dorm roomdorm roomdorm room

my lovely window with a view
marrisa and i hoped on the bus system to find a càfe. we had a chocolate and coconut crépe for dinner and forgot our dictionaries, so really had no idea what was on the menu. luckily our waiter spoke spanish and so does marrisa so we were pretty lucky. we decided to walk home from the cafe and look at shops. we stopped for some water, and every french guy said hello to us. i couldnt help but say hello back! marrisa kept telling me to stop making eye contact with them, i will have to work on that!
au revoir for now!
Taylore


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

the viewthe view
the view

the view from my window of a gorgeous park and the bus system runs right by!
dinner!dinner!
dinner!

my delicious chocolate and coconut dinner


26th May 2008

room
well, your room looks neat and clean so far and just enough space for all the things you took on your 5 week visit Just remember, only do those things you would if I were standing behind you.
26th May 2008

I forgot to tell you about the keyboards! But I did tell you not to fall asleep you dummie! Your dorm room looks really nice...have you seen the Eiffel yet?
26th May 2008

That's My Girl!
This blog is straight out of a travel guide! I am cracking up! and to think you can write so well, and yet hate to read anything more than a good fashion magazine. who knew there was talented writing lying between the fall fashion in "Elle"? i love it babe! keep blogging daily - we are anxious to read your every word! - Your Biggest Fan - Mom
26th May 2008

no tower yet. we are going to see it on wednesday as a group and my painting class is meeting at saint michelle across the river from notre dame tomorrow. we may go by it before heading home but i really had no idea how big this city real is! i cant wait to start site seeing and i already love my professors! i will blog tomorrow about class. love ya
27th May 2008

Love your blog
Hi Sweetie I am thourghly enjoying hearing about your adventures. Just like getting to live my life thru you. STAY AWAY FROM THE GUYS!!!!!! lOVE YOU Grandma
27th May 2008

Missing You but so excited!!!!!!!
I felt like your mother, the morning of your flight, I woke up at 5:30 and could not go to sleep! I was so excited for you and of course nervous! But, you made it fine! The luggage story was so funny! I just wished your luggage would have opened and all your Paris clothes and the "maja" Paris shoes would have rolled out! Everyone would have been so jealous! Espceially the coat that is wool! But, hey, you gotta look the part. Okay, now for the photo you have to send me- the view should be of something famous, you sitting down with paint and brush with the paper easel, a Paris hat on, clothes etc. -on the streets of Paris. That is what I want! Bring a "frenchie" home for me well at least some great photos! You know what they say about those French men. No, I did not say you should partake, just observe from a distance! Okay, well maybe not! Sorry Julie! Can't wait to see more! I know your room won't look like that long-I want to see what it looks like in a week, okay, maybe a day. Love ya tay-tay. Second mom, Jenni
30th May 2008

Hi
Sounds like you are having a blast. Enjoy the experiences. Keep taking pictures and blogging.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb