Hostels, Chateaus, and Museums


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
January 14th 2007
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Paris is incredible. The only thing that could make it any better is if this keyboard wasn't rearranged and if somebody else were here to share this with me. Oh well, I can't have everything. So Versailles and Chartres cathedral were both amazing. You got to check out the pics. Today I visited Notre Dame and the Musee d'Orsay among other things. Amazing pieces of art. Amazing cathedral. Last night was the first hostel experience and it went smoothly. My two roomates were professional travelers (Rod, Gina, you guys probably met a few of those in South America), and we talked a lot about thier travels and life philosophys. In summary I'd say they were Eastern in thought which was fairly interesting. So they believed a lot in karma which made me think how God more or less takes care of his faithful. Then, I was thinking today about how most everything in life is a journey where the stages along the way are more important than the destinations. Things like faith, love, unselfishness, and salvation are all processes. Sure it would be great to be unselfish all the time, but the more important thing is that moment when you act
GynormousGynormousGynormous

Chartres Cathedral rising above the tiny village.
unselfishly to aid your brother. Real world example: as I wandered the streets today I had a specific destination, but nearly every block it seemed like I stumbled upon another magnificent building or unique event which enhanced the walk. Getting to the cathedral was nice, but the journey there was unbelievable. So, there you have some of my thoughts today. Love you all, enjoy the pics.
Brett


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

I got all the time in the worldI got all the time in the world
I got all the time in the world

The Louvre and other landmarks from a Musee d'Orsay clock window.
Notre DameNotre Dame
Notre Dame

Not the university
Paris at nightParis at night
Paris at night

It's not bad lighting...it looks good during the day or at night.


15th January 2007

cold here
sounds like you are adjusting now after your hectic arrival. it's cold and snowy here. Like 10 degrees!! looks like sunshine in Paris. great pictures. how did you get out to Chartre? bus? train? we read about all this stuff on the web. sounds like great stuff. sounds like a great trip so far. looking forward to seeing you in Geneva in a couple of weeks. you're not missing anything here.
15th January 2007

Thanks for the pictures!
Oh Brett, so good to hear your thoughts and see your face. You sounded rested and must also be clean :-) It is hard to think of you seeing those wonderful things as we sit here in Kansas. Travel is quite amazing. I am glad your life journey includes these special times. Blessings to you today and God's protection. Love, Mom
15th January 2007

Nice
Pictures of buildings were wonderful. You looked good, too. I'll bet they don't say Notre Dame like Americans do -- right? Blessings.
15th January 2007

great pictures
great pictures. how about a picture of your hostel? and maybe what your room looks like? do you have a travel companion yet? it is 10 degrees, sunshine, and 2 inches of icey stuff on the ground. dad
16th January 2007

i never really thought much about travelling to Paris til you left and I checked out all your plans Sat. morning....then, I wanted to be there with you. I'm following your travels in Paris reading about Aquinas philosophy done while at the University in Paris. Say hello to him for me....... Oh yeah, Grandma and Brett, we went to the doctor today and learned the baby's name will be William Paul Malone and not Eva Sophia Malone as dad and I had hoped :) Congratulate Grandpa earning a namesake!! Love to all.....
17th January 2007

camera
hey Brett, haven't heard from you for a while. what's going on? My suggestion for the camera is: buy the over the counter, cheap ones and let me bring mom's camera with me and trade with you and bring yours back.
18th January 2007

brett, where are you???
We have not heard from you for four days. Where are you? Please keep in touch, it worries me to not know where you are, especially when you communicated every day at first. even if you just leave a short note, it still means you are alive. We need to hear from you today, ASAP. Also, I need to communicate with you because I leave town on Sunday and will have limited communication until I get to Geneva. dad

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb