Pig Ears and Nudity


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Franche-Comté » Besançon
September 19th 2009
Published: September 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

HELLO EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!

I hope you are all enjoying and relaxing this weekend!! My spirits are much better as this week came to an end. I am realizing though that being here has just made me more of an emotional person. But not in a sad way...more of an "I can't believe i'm here experiencing another culture first hand" kind of way. Everything makes me tear up...beautiful gardens, french hymns in church, listening to little kids talk...everything! I think it's me just proving to myself how appreciative I am of this amazing opportunity given to me. 😊

So you may be wondering what the title of this blog signifies. Well yesterday was our last day of classes. I was sad to leave our two professors...Francine was great..she was bubbly, fun, energetic, and so nice. Agnes was great too...very nice...however intimidating...and I'm pretty sure she showered three times during our stay here. I've never smelled such a sweet&sour BO mix before. Zack, Steven, and I were talking about this one of a kind odor on our way to dinner last night and Zack said he read that the way to attract a member of the opposite sex is based on smell. By showering, applying deoderant and perfume, we are masking our natural smell causing the opposite sex to be confused and unaware of the compatability level. Hmm...Interesting. Eventhough it may take me a while to find my perfect match due to me masking my natural scent...I can't imagine having someone take a wiff after not showering for a week and having them be like.." I FOUND MY WIFE!!!" No thank you!

We had a wonderful dinner planed for us as a farewell dinner. Everyone was there...all the people we worked with at the CLA and the director of the program. It was great. We started the dinner with an "aperatif" which was a fruity wine. Yum. Then came the salad...I thought I would try something I've never had before....pig ears. I'm really not to sure how I felt about them...I couldn't finish it tho. It tasted like chicken....but the texture was like eating the gooey fat. Along with the pig ears was a mixed green salad which tasted like it was drenched in garlic. After one bite of lettuce I felt like I ate an entire garlic clove. I could have easliy had a mile radius of space due to the garlic clove growing on my tongue. It was a little much! Luckily, the server served us while wine with the salad...so i felt better. haha Next was this delicious Curry chicken dish...AMAZING. I had coconut and almonds as my dipping chioces and it was to die for! Red wine was served with this dish! As soon as I finished it...it was refilled. My wine was refilled 3 times and I finally had to say no thank you toward the end of the meal! I don't even know how many bottles they went through! For desert, I had the most amazing rich chocolate tart....OH MY GOD. I don't think I chewed it or picked my head up...no surprise there though.

Dinner lasted from 7:00-11:00 and then we were off to the discotheque!!!! It took us an hour to get there but it was worth it!!!! This place "Space 39" was so neat. You walk in and can check anything you want so you don't have to carry anything with you. There are 4 different rooms...a Carribbean room with all the matching music....A Kareoke room....a Euro Pop room which was white with platforms and fog....this room also had a stripper...she got naked...it was disgusting. She was not attractive in the slightest and I saw men standing by her trying to lick her. I was so grossed out. Welcome to France? Aside from that, my personal favorite...the Village Room. This room felt like you were outside...they had trees with lights buildings around the room and "outdoor cafe" seating. This room played all the classics like YMCA and Shania Twain and 80s music...it was GREAT!!!! We were all dancing machines...even the boys in the group!!! We all had a blast dancing with each other and didn't want the night to end. We ended up getting back here around 5am. We were dropped off at our homes so we wouldn't have to walk or call our host families. Very nice!

Today was my host brother's conformation! I met the grandparents, cousin, and Alix's sister during lunch before heading to the church. It was a lovely cermony with the most beautiful music. 😊

OH!! I forgot to mention!! I'm not going to be homeless afterall while in Tours!!! I have a family...YAY!!!!!! Veronique..my new host mom is a professor at an IUFM ( teacher training college) close to mine. She teached psychology and also observes Master's students. She's pretty high up there! She and her husband have 2 daughters...Axelle 6, and Alison, 13. I hope they are nice!! Good news is, I have my own room, bathroom, and toilet!! I've realized how rare than actually is here in France!

Well, next time I write I will be in Paris!!!!

Take Care!!!!

Bisous!! XOXOXO

Advertisement



21st September 2009

Hi Alana, I've been following your adventures via your blog. I'm enjoying the stories. It's almost like being there! Miss you! Love, Tammy
21st September 2009

Hi Alana, I've been following your adventures via your blog. I'm enjoying the stories. It's almost like being there! Miss you! Love, Tammy

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb