Le Jour Numero Trois


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Franche-Comté » Besançon
January 5th 2008
Published: January 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Le SarrasinLe SarrasinLe Sarrasin

This was the first restaurant we ate at in Besançon--and this picture shows the entire restaurant. Most cafes, stores and restaurants here are very small.
Bonjour mes amis!

So I've decided that my journey here will be filled with des petits montaignes (little mountains). Last night, two of my girlfriends and I went out to dinner by ourselves, ordered a bottle of wine, dinner, and enjoyed ourselves immensely. This does not sound like an accomplishment, but let me tell you, we were proud. You don't know until you leave the US but there are so many little customs and things that go along with social interaction that must be learned. For example, in France, the waiter will never give you the bill unless you ask for it. So we were very happy to have scaled our first little mountain alone.

This morning, I was feeling adventurous so I ventured out all by myself. I knew that if I didn't, I would never really learn how to get around Besançon. I'm still nowhere near being familiar, because the city is so old it's also very confusing, but I make a good start. After I write this I am going to attempt to post pictures to display my findings in the city.

It is very foggy here, and rains nearly everyday in different degrees. I
Le DoubsLe DoubsLe Doubs

This river winds its way through Besançon. The modern building on the right, at the end of the river is part of the University I attend.
am very happy to have two pairs of boots. In a couple days, for la fete de trois rois (The holiday of the three kings, when the three kings made it to see Jesus) it is nationally decreed that there must be a sale in every store. So I think I'm going to buy another pair of boots 😉 Unfortunately, EVERYTHING is very expensive here. About one and a half times as expensive, in addition to the fact that the Euro is worth more than the dollar. For example, for dinner tonight I had a salad, some bread and a creme brulee for desert and it was 21 dollars (14 Euro). In a cafe--not a nice restaurant.

But on a positive note, my French is better than I thought it would be. I understand about 85% of what everyone says if I listen carefully, and I can almost always say what I want to in an intelligent way. I wasn't sure how I would measure up, having only ever spoken in a classroom, but I'm well on my way to becoming fluent!

Well, I've talked enough now. I will work on uploading photos since that's what you want
La Restaurant de la PeloteLa Restaurant de la PeloteLa Restaurant de la Pelote

I love France. This is actually a legit restaurant.
to see anyway!

A bientot
SFech


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Victor HugoVictor Hugo
Victor Hugo

Victor Hugo was born here in Besançon, this was the house he lived in.
Cathedral St. JeanCathedral St. Jean
Cathedral St. Jean

This cathedral was constructed in 1123. It's right around the corner from where I'm staying right now!
Cathedral St. JeanCathedral St. Jean
Cathedral St. Jean

The inside of the cathedral was reconstructed in two different times, so one half, this one, is in the Gothic style.
Cathedral St. JeanCathedral St. Jean
Cathedral St. Jean

And this is the other half, done in the Baroque style.
A StreetA Street
A Street

It's pretty hilly in Besançon once you go outside the downtown, and this is an example. The streets are also very narrow, so cars have difficulty.
Another StreetAnother Street
Another Street

Another hilly street.
War MemorialWar Memorial
War Memorial

Besançon was an occupied city during the second world war, this memorial remembers those who died.
View of BesançonView of Besançon
View of Besançon

The following are views from a large hill, all of Besançon. It's beautiful, non?
A Second ViewA Second View
A Second View

Besançon again.
A Third ViewA Third View
A Third View

Besançon again.
A Fourth ViewA Fourth View
A Fourth View

Besançon again.
A Fifth ViewA Fifth View
A Fifth View

Besançon again.
A Sixth ViewA Sixth View
A Sixth View

Another view...
A Final ViewA Final View
A Final View

Besançon.
Me!Me!
Me!

Thought you'd like to see my smiling face.
Le Doubs Part TwoLe Doubs Part Two
Le Doubs Part Two

Another section of the Doubs River.
DoorwayDoorway
Doorway

People in the 17th century marked their doors but carving the stone. This one says, "Where God helps, the devil cannot do harm."
Le Doubs Part ThreeLe Doubs Part Three
Le Doubs Part Three

A nighttime view of the bridge over the Doubs.


6th January 2008

Lovely! I love the old buildings in Europe. It just blows my mind to stand in places where people stood 800 years ago. So overwhelmingly cool. Thanks for doing a good job with the updates. Keep it up! :)
10th January 2008

Have many adventures! That's one thing you should do nearly every day! Get lost! Make mistakes! Have fun!

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb