Europe - Day 4


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Corsica
August 24th 2016
Published: March 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Sun dried tomatoes and curd rice.

People are adventures in holidays, always on the lookout for something beautiful, strange or unique. I, however, am slow and sleepy. I on holidays love waking up late, cooking brunch (mostly eggs) and then figuring out where we are heading next.

This day in Corsica started with eggs. I tried to replicate Gordan Ramsay's version of scrambled eggs. They did not turn out as fluffy as one would have hoped. We then walked through the small town of Bastia to the Euro car outlet.

I would recommend this to anyone visiting Corsica. The rental cars are clean and easy to drive, petrol is cheap and the sweeping views of the ocean are just a few minutes away.

We drove, endlessly, without looking into the map. It was as though we were outlining the edges of the island, moving as close it can get to the ocean. Imagine waking up one day, and you are suspended in the depths of water. There is blue everywhere, the horizon, next to you and above. It is in the morning so your legs and arms seem lighter. They sway with the water or the wind that envelop you with all that blue. That's what Corsica felt like.

After that, we walked up to a pebble beach at Saint-Florent. I let my legs get soaked, the ocean, in turn, dried up into specks of salt around me.

We then drove to through a wildfire!! with the fire lighting up our way! (slightly exaggerated) to another beach. Corsica has beaches like one would have sand in their shoes. In plenty and hidden away. Here we played a game of rocks.

We went back to the city, shopped for potato chips as potato one and two can't live without them. After this, I made my way to the parking lot, the one that overlooked the ocean. I stood there, still as I can and watched the ocean come alive around me and die down as it went further. I sang. I memorized the waves, the colors and the wind.

However, Batman came to my rescue. That's when the day end with sundried tomatoes and curd rice.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb