Corsica


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Corsica » Calvi
July 22nd 2023
Published: July 30th 2023
Edit Blog Post

The run up to this vacation was stressful. Fraught with the habitual tensions of trying to do too much before leaving. The return was even more stressful; full of flight delays and cancellations which had me familiarise myself with Paris Charles de Gaulle more than my own office. I’m not sure that five days away was worth the stress however I will say that Corsica is the beauty that I thought it would be. So close geographically to Sardinia; its beauty is truly in its azure blue water beaches, rugged landscapes and peaceful atmosphere. The interior of Corsica c’est sauvage, c’est beau. My linguistic fluency came into its own and I made friends from mainland France too. Of course any notion of my gluten-free, sugar-free, un-caffeinated diet went astray with my daily dose of several freshly baked croissants, petits pain au chocolats, and a couple of dense squidgy canelé each morning. As usual I swam as much as I could; early morning and late nights. We took the ‘trinchellu’ the little train that runs along the north coast of the island between Calvi and Ile Rousse, visited beaches and small shops. Unfortunately without a car it was hard to visit the interior of the island which I am told is beautiful however my newfound friend Agathe did take me to a mountainous walk whereby we bathed in the clear waters and talked about life, careers, money, dating and love until my tongue craved the ease of speaking in English again. I was happy to be going home; I felt homesick on this trip not for lack of good company or amazing views but because that is how I always feel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0851s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb