Carry It or Ship It!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Champagne-Ardenne » Epernay
June 19th 2021
Published: June 19th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Unless you are a golfer or cyclist, you probably never thought about shipping your equipment ahead to your destination. Shipping golf clubs, to far off places like Scotland, Spain, or even Hawaii is a lifesaver, particularly when I have other stops along the way. It was a real pain to carry our clubs through downtown London before heading up to Scotland for a week of golf. The same is true for cycling, even when renting a bicycle. My recent cycling trip to Bordeaux involved one stop prior to the week of cycling, and two stops after. I hate the thought of carrying my equipment up three or four floors without an elevator.I shipped my cycling equipment ahead to my first hotel in Bordeaux. My bag included: helmet, cycling shoes, spindles, cycling clothing, extra underwear, gifts, water bottles, energy bars, gloves, socks, and rain gear. When I completed the week of cycling in St. Emilion, I filled to bag with all of my cycling gear, plus dirty clothes. They picked it up on my last day, and it arrived at my home in just a few days! It was not cheap, but well worth the $300.First, carrying a regular roller bag, and wearing a backpack are not conducive to another 25 pound bag, through airports, onto buses or cabs, and up several flights of stairs. And don't get me started on the extra baggage fees from the airlines.Scheduling a pickup a few days before departure may seem like a terrible inconvenience. But I have plenty of spare cycling equipment and clothing. And just remember, a heavy bag at airport check in could run as much as $65!The shipping companies guarantee on time delivery, and offer insurance as well. And while there are no limitations, the fees are based on weight and baggage size.I found my biggest problem to be the hotels, or your tour company. Some hotels do not want to participate in this shipping arrangement. I solve this by simply changing hotels, or finding a bellhop at my departure hotel who wants to make an extra 10 Euro. Best of all, you can get a free quote before you commit, and compare it to your baggage costs, and the expense of rotator cuff surgery when you return! (Just kidding) I have done this twice, once for golf clubs (two sets), and once for my cycling gear. Both times were great, no extra fees, on time delivery, and nothing broken or stolen. It is worth a try is you are a golfer, skier, cyclist, or over packer!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb