Cafe with Leo, travel arangements with Loic, and Mussels for Dinner


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Burgundy » Dijon
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I woke up around 11 and had breakfast with Flore and her mother. Pain au chocalt et du jus de orange.

I spoke to Loic after breakfast and he offered to pay for a ticket for me to come and visit him and his family in Brittany. Luckily I had an extra travel day for my Eurrail pass so it was not necessary for them to pay for another ticket. So my plans have changed and instead of four more days in Dijon, I will be spending them by the see in Brittany.

Flore and I straight chilled for a couple of hours and then went to meet Leo for coffee in the city center. We took bikes for the Journey and I had to use my mechanical skills inherited from my father to prepare the bikes for departure. Filling the tires with air was a simple task but I am glad to have the know how to accomplish such a simple task.

I met one of Leo's friends I cannot recall his name but I had a Cafe au lait and sat and spoke French for the better part of an hour. Leo has grown much taller since the last I saw him and he looks a lot like his father. After we talked about a multitude of subjects Leo had an appointment to get to and the skys looked ominous for our journey home.

We stopped at the train station on the way home to reserve my ticket for Saturday. It is going to be another full day of travel, but I should arrive in Brittany at sometime before 7 pm on Saturday night.

We made our way home beating the rain and spent another hour or so reading and playing on the computer. Flore's mother returned home and then took Flore and I out for dinner. We drove in towards the center of the city again and ate at a little restaurant outside where the specialty was mussels. I believe that this was the second time I had ever eaten mussels and I must say they were amazing. Flore had a Salad, her mother mussels with spices, and myself mussels in Compte cheese. The cheese sauce was thick and all over the mussels and at the bottom of the bowel. We drank wine, water, ate the bread and mussels, and there were also French Fries and Dijon mustard (my favorite)

The food was amazing and I am so happy I have had mussels prepared this way. I hope to try them at some point in the United States and see how they differ and I vow to return to this restaurant the next time I return to Dijon.

We are now home after this fairly relaxing day we are sitting down to watch a French thriller while I write this. I hope that my readers are enjoying this blog and I encourage everyone who reads this to leave a comment asking questions or give their opinions.








Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



7th August 2008

comment
yeah, i dunno what to say really. sounds like you're having a lot of fun. i've been reading this but i never have intelligent commentary to provide. OH. but mussels. i've never really had mussels that i enjoyed in the U.S. only in the philippines. sometime i'll have to eat them in france. and the picture of you on the bike made me lol for some reason. =)
8th August 2008

good food and good friends
Looks like a great time with good food and good friends!
9th August 2008

wow
hey! Looks like this is an amazing trip....i think that Eurpoe in general is an amazing place, and there's so much of it! Well, glad to know you're having a good time....have a safe trip back!
9th August 2008

oh im so glad you are having a good time, bobby! we have to get together when you get back so you can tell me more about the rest of your trip. hope the rest of it goes well.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb