Day 4 Au revoir Paris - bonjour Beaune , Burgundy - then on to Swiss Alps


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Burgundy » Beaune
June 13th 2023
Published: June 13th 2023
Edit Blog Post

I got up at 6am for another early start this morning, following a good nights sleep. More improvements on the health situation. I’m still coughing, but better overall! Until I hit the breakfast area; it was so hot in there, no fresh air, I came over really sickly. I couldn’t even manage my breakfast, or a coffee!!! Which is unheard of!!! I decided I couldn’t eat at that time, so made myself a sandwich, and decided on drinking water.

I went outside for fresh air, and definitely felt better for it! I made the decision to go early to the coach, allowing me to stand in the fresh air, rather than struggle in the sickly heat for breakfast.

Au revoir Paris!

We set off at around 7:30ish… I think! We made good time to get through Paris before the rush. It was a pleasant drive through lush countryside before stopping for a comfort break. I was able to enjoy my first coffee of the day!
The weather has shown up again for us today. We all benefit from extra vitamin D. It certainly brings a smile to my face!

Today, it’s time to sample a taste of small town as we leave France with a lunch stop in Bueane. It is a walled town that is in the heart of the wine making region. It is surrounded by the Côte d'Or vineyards. This cobbled town is renowned for an annual wine auction held at the Hôtel-Dieu (Hospices de Beaune) which can be recognised by its colorful, geometric-patterned tile roof, originally, it was a hospital built in the 15th century.

We had quite a good long stop in Beaune. The weather was lovely. The town was filled with historic buildings, shops, restaurants and wine caves. It was really nice to amble aimlessly through the historic, cobbled streets, just looking and appreciating the time we spent there. A few people opted to have lunch, but I wasn’t that hungry, but I succumbed to having a sandwich from one of the amazing shops that sold fresh bread in all shapes and sizes, a wide range of patisserie to choose from, amongst many other mouth watering delights! It’s so irresistible, therefore really difficult to not eat, even when like me, you’re not actually hungry! We happily sauntered through the streets, chatting and getting to know each other in more depth. As the trip unfolds, so do the potential friendships.

At 2pm, everyone returned to the coach in good time. After lunch, we took a long scenic drive across the border into Switzerland, we are heading towards the Swiss Alps. The capital city of Switzerland - Bern, will be home for the next two days!

I’ve been watching Queen Charlotte on my iPad, on and off throughout the week, when o raised my head, at about 3:15, I noticed a radical change in the scenery, specifically the difference in the houses. We are still in France, but the landscape is clearly changing.

We passed an impressive building that was situated about 100m high. Chateau de Joux. It commands the mountain pass Cluse de Pontarlier. I did try to take a photo, but failed due to reflections on the coach windows, so I took one off the internet as it needs to be seen!! It was built as a castle, then later in its life it became a notorious prison. All adding to an interesting journey over to Switzerland! The beautiful scenery continued as we arrived in Burn.

We are staying in a Holiday Inn. It’s a really clean, and fresh hotel. After collecting our bags from the bus , the rooms are allocated. For the next couple of nights I’m sharing with a young girl from South Korea, called Sue. She’s a nice girl, very quiet. It’s a change to share. It mixes it up a bit. I’m just so relieved I had the first two nights on my own…. Due to the coughing! I’m pleased to state that each day, my cough is gradually subsiding. Thank goodness! I will continue with the antibiotics until the whole course is completed. I am able to relax, and enjoy my time more and more as I improve!

After settling in my room, it was a shower, change and downstairs for the evening meal. Tonight we’re having a small salad with a Dijon mustard dressing for the starter, followed by chicken stroganoff for main, then we finished with a Toblerone mousse desert. All in all, nice dinner.

I’ve prepared everything for tomorrow, so it’ll be up to bed, upload the blog, a bit of tv on my iPad, then good night from me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb