My Boots are Floating!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Burgundy » Auxerre
June 7th 2012
Published: June 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

As usual, breakfast was at 07h30. As usual, I headed to the boulangerie for my Jambon avec salade and a quiche. Unusually, I headed for the station to catch the 10h00 train to Vermenton. Unusually, the train had been rescheduled and was now running at 10h18.

Thus, I arrived in Vermenton, in the sunshine, a little later than planned and set off on a walk through the fields and woods. The sun was shining and the birds were singing and a gentle breeze wafted the humidity. All too soon, I was removing the legs from my trousers, turning them into shorts - and reaping the benefits of the coolness by succumbing to the constant bite of mosquitoes.

Lunch was at one, at a perfectly timed river location and eaten to the sound of water rushing over the weirs and thunder crashing nearby.

About 14h45, the heavens opened and rain lashed down. Fortunately, I was shielded from the worst by being under the trees. Once the rain had subsided, I continued and, although sodden, was pleased that the sun had come out.

All to soon, the tail end of the rain hit and another downpour followed, drenching me through such that my walking shoes filled with water! Taking shelter behind some logs, I waited for the rain to pass and the sun to come out before continuing ... drying all the time.

And thus, back at the hotel, my shoes and socks spent the night in the drying room whilst I warmed up in the shower!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

View towards St. MoréView towards St. Moré
View towards St. Moré

The cliffs contain numerous caves, containing cave paintings only recently discovered.


Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 89; dbt: 0.1197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb