MONET'S GARDENS


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Brittany
May 30th 2013
Published: June 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Ah, the gardens. I have aways loved Monet and visiting his home in Giverney was one of my must dos. The ride took about 90 minutes and I saw the Seine for the first time as we crossed it. It is much wider than I pictured. Of course it would be, but somehow I had imagined a quiet, tranquil river. I probably sensed this from those Impressionist painting I saw.



The village of Giverney is all about Monet and Impressionists and artists today. It is charming and commercial with galleries and cafes. But the gardens, oh, the gardens.



Rather than describe them I'll attach some pictures. After touring the house and studio and a museum, I had lunch of mushroom and cheese crepes and house wine and people watched. This was another long day but one that I'll never forget.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.324s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb