First Week of Language Classes


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Brittany » Rennes
September 2nd 2011
Published: September 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello one and all!

So it's been awhile since my last post, but that's because I've been busy with my first week of classes. I'm not at the university yet, but these first two weeks are at the School of Language and Communications and we have class for 5 hours a day, 5 days a week for 2 weeks, so it counts for 2 college credits. Thus, it has been a little intense at times, but nothing too horrible. I found out I was placed in the highest language level which is reassuring and means that I can speak French fairly well, but it also means that I'm in a challenging class, so I'm just trying to be patient with myself and take everything little by little so I don't get so overwhelmed.

Monday was a LONG and pretty rough day for all of us, so after classes and meetings galore, Abbey and I stopped at the market and bought some chocolate. I got home and decompressed and ate some chocolate and I felt a little better. Then I hung out with my family that night which really helped. That was the first night Damien, my 13 yr old "brother, was home, so I met him and he's super sweet and so nice. He wanted to play board games right away so we played "Pendu" which is hangman. Then we had a fun family dinner and then it was back to the games. We played "Turbo Cochon" which means "Turbo Pig." It's a game meant for 5 year olds, so it was easy for me and it was quite fun actually. Then we just relaxed and the family watched an entertaining show about finding love.

Tuesday and Wednesday went well for the most part, mostly just going to class, meetings and then hanging out with my family. On Thursday we didn't have a meeting after classes, so Kat, Abbey and I went to the mall next to school and I bought some running shoes (because I'm sure I've already gained about 7 pounds) and then we all had a craving for coffee and some sort of pastry and low and behold we walk out of the mall and the first thing we see is a cute little cafe called "Coffee and Crepes" it was so perfect. So we sat outside and did our homework while drinking coffee and eating yummy crepes. We decided that would be our hangout place from now on. It was also Lillian's birthday last night, so we went to a nice dinner together and then walked about and enjoyed some cider together because cider is the specialty of the Brittany region (which is the region we're in). It was an enjoyable evening with many laughs and many memories made. It was nice to relax and hangout after our first week of school.

All in all it was a busy and slightly stressful week, but it's Friday and I'm done with classes now, so I'm hoping to enjoy a relaxing and fun weekend. Hope all is well with you all too. Bon week-end!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb