Sarlat-la-Canéda, France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Sarlat-la-Caneda
June 7th 2017
Published: June 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Last night I had dinner at a restaurant that specializes in local cuisine, so I ordered an appetizer of foie gras (see photo). It was very good and I enjoyed it, but I don't plan to make a habit of eating goose liver. I spent today tooling around the Dordogne River valley in my little car. The first place I visited was the Chateau de Castelnaud, a medieval castle that changed hands seven times during the Hundred Years War (roughly 1350-1450). It has been restored and now houses a museum on armaments of the Middle Ages. I've visited a number of castles in Europe - quite a few of them on this trip - but this is the best one so far. Not only is the castle restored and explained, but there is a commanding view (see photo). There is also good information on the personal weapons and siege engines of the day (see photos). I ended up spending my whole morning there. In the afternoon, I drove along the banks of the Dordogne where there are many quaint villages. It is pleasant to drive slowly through, stopping when the mood strikes. The area has been inhabited for millennia and until modern times people built shelters up on the faces of the cliffs for protection from invaders (see photo). Today the only invaders are tourists, like me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



9th June 2017

life in France
Imagine living w/o heat and no electric lines! Cold toes on the way to breakfast Would be cold in the winters. Did you see their clothes? Guess I am being dark, Sounds like an great trip! You had control of your destinations and the time you spent there. Your teammates are looking forward to your return. We missed you, Bill

Tot: 0.659s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 65; dbt: 0.3884s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb