Bonjour!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Biarritz
June 17th 2007
Published: June 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

FranciaFranciaFrancia

This was at the top of the mountain we took the train up to!
This was an amazing weekend overall. We got to travel to France among many other things.

First, it was my friend Christina's 21st birthday on Tuesday and since we are good students we did not celebrate until Friday night. We did the traditional tapas crawl (here they are called pinchos), where you have a tapas (little appetizer) or two and a drink at one bar and then you move on and do this at several bars. It was a really fun way to see the city, we did this throughout Parte Vieja (the old part of town) and saw some places that we had not explored yet. The wine here is so cheap, it is a euro or two per glass, I mean it is not the ebst quality, but we are not wine connoisseurs yet. After a while we got some gelata, because it is so much better than cake here and went to a local jazz bar. It is very eclectic, it is below the street and the walls are filled with pictures of people who have performed there. They do have live music, but of course not when we were there. It was a veru chill
Gotta love the windGotta love the windGotta love the wind

This is the new hair style... it is extreme wind blown!
atmosphere and Christina really loved it. I called it an early night, because we had to get up early the next morning for our excursion. A couple people continued on and went to more bars, but I'm getting old and can't do that anymore, haha.

Our bus left the next morning at 9 and it took about 30 minutes to get to this small town called Sara.
First, we took a train ride up a mountain and got a spectacular view of the surrounding area, which included mountains, fields with sheep and horses, and the ocean with small towns scattered along the coast. It was a simply breath-taking view. I got some pictures, but it was a little hazy that day, so they didn't come out perfect, but you can still get the idea. I will post those as soon as I can.
Then we went back into town and had some free time to explore. We walked through a grave-yard (very cheery!) and it was actually pretty cool, because they have flower beds at the end of every grave. So families can plant flowers instead of constantly buying new ones. I just thought it was erally nice, and all of the flowers were kept up because the families visit the graves every Sunday after Church.
Next we got to view another tourist bus (luckily it wasn't ours) smash into a local car. That was quite exciting to see...


Next.... we hiked along the Pryenees mountains for about an hour. Part of the trail is the dividing line between France and Spain. I got to straddle the border and don't worry I got a picture of that too!! We hiked to a small town and had an amazing lunch. The usual mixed salas (it has tuna, hard-boiled egg, and lots of other good stuff on it), this little appetizer called a croquet, it is like their version of a mozzerella stick, it has cheese and ham on the inside. For our main course we had lamb chops, and I actually LIKED them! I had 5 small ones, and I know Mrs. Caraboolad will be proud!

After that we took a bus to a French town on the coast called Biarritz. This is where my friends, Jill, Kate and I stayed the night by ourselves. I will save that fun story for tomorrow.

¡Muchos Besos!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The ViewThe View
The View

This is the view from the top of the mountain that we took the train up!
I'm in two countries at once!I'm in two countries at once!
I'm in two countries at once!

I'm straddling the France/Spain border!
Border of France & SpainBorder of France & Spain
Border of France & Spain

Here we are staring each other down... This path is the actual border


20th June 2007

Fun!
I wanna be there, too!

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb