Bergerac and not a murder in sight but the worst news ever about the passing of our Queen Elizabeth


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Aquitaine » Bergerac
September 8th 2022
Published: September 10th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Bergerac and the worst news ever about the passing of our Queen



After leaving the Chateau we are on the road again, this time to Bergerac and guess what not a bad journey with Goose using the Sat Nav and you guessed it the trusty old map. Now whenever I think of Bergerac I think of the TV programme where there were murders so it’s good that Goose is getting better at navigating otherwise who knows what would happen - there could be a new big patio next to the motorhome and no sight of Goose!



Whilst driving I get the alert that we need some AdBlue - well this motorhome seems to drink AdBlue as if there’s no tomorrow and we are forever filling it up or so it appears. So we stop at a couple of petrol garages and can we buy it NOOOOOOO so we are going to have to go into a real garage if things don’t start picking up when we set off again.



We manage to get into the site in Bergerac and find a pitch with a river view so all is well and we
CyranoCyranoCyrano

We are on first name terms!
appear to have one of the biggest pitches which is total luck I can assure you.



We walk into the town along the river. The town is really quaint and picturesque. It also has a couple of statues of Cyrano de Bergerac who was a French satirist and dramatist whose writings included political satire - he would have been great in today’s climate I am sure with what has gone on with our dear Boris and co. I am not sure why, but he is no oil painting and he is always shown as having a remarkably large nose - which is not flattering. Now I am going to let you into a secret. I thought he was a fictional character played in the film by Peter Dinklage who also acted in Game of Thrones - not like I have ever seen any of these films just the trailers. So I am getting a bit cultured whilst on this French trip!



Anyway after a spot of lunch we decide to do one of these little trains, you know the small toy like ones that travel around towns. We were asked which language and when
Another CyranoAnother CyranoAnother Cyrano

Such a pretty town
we said English we had to sit in a certain carriage which okay we did just as we were told and were the only ones in this carriage. Then things started to go “tits” up as a family with small children who came from Quebec settled in the seats directly behind us. Coming from Quebec they spoke French and English so the gentleman said they could sit in our carriage. Well one of the mother’s, all I can say is she only had one volume and it was not quiet - if she had not had children with her I know I would have told her to turn the volume down otherwise instead of “Murder on the Orient Express” it would be “Murder on Le Petit Train De Bergerac” and it certainly won’t be me who kicks the bucket I can assure you.



The train is quite sweet to be honest and you are on it for 45 mins but all I can say is I saw the Cyrano de Bergerac statue about 15 times as we went round and round in circles.



I am glad we got to the site early as when we got back it was full. Another day tomorrow in Bergerac and then on the road again, this time to Sarlat for a couple of days.



Well today was not a good day with the news that our Queen Elizabeth had passed away - which if I am totally honest although we knew something was going on when all the Royals went to Balmoral but it was still a shock - you just thought she would go on and on. More than a few tears shed here. So I will not publish this blog for a few days out of respect.



This is the time you really want to be home and not out of our country but unfortunately this is not the case for us. We will try as much as we can to be back in the country for our Queen‘s funeral but not sure how we are going to do this but we will try our hardest. If we cannot do it we will pay our respects in France. I really understand how awful it must be for the Queen and Duke’s children losing both parents within less than two years of one another. This has been for me an annus horribilis for a few years now as I lost my mum on 24th December 2019 and then my dad on 25th January 2021, I year, 1 month I day later - so this is really poignant to me losing parents so soon after each other.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb