Day 10


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace
May 31st 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today we got a taste of the Alsatian region of France by “storming” a castle and partaking in a wine tasting. The castle was very interesting; however, it was a holiday, so it was very crowded. I have issues with being in a very large group of people, so I had a hard time enjoying this activity. After successfully taking over the castle we were off to our wine tasting. This was my first time to be around a wine vineyard, and I immediately knew I wanted to take my picture in one. I just assumed that our wine tasting would take place near one, but to my surprise, our wine tasting took place in the town in a wine cellar, beneath a building. This was okay, but I was still determined to get my picture in a vineyard, so in our free time Jamie and I walked to the nearest vineyard and struck a pose. We got several weird looks from locals while taking pictures as if they were wondering why in the world we cared to take a picture of a vineyard. So I would definitely have to say the vineyards weren’t tourist ready. As for what I learned- I really didn’t realize that a town’s economy could be so heavily depended on the vineyard and wine making in the way that these small Alsatian towns were. This activity also reiterated the fact that I am NOT a wine person, as each wine basically tasted the same to me, and I didn’t really like them much.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb