Stilettos on Ice


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
January 30th 2007
Published: January 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Strasbourg SunsetStrasbourg SunsetStrasbourg Sunset

Just your average sunset in Strasbourg. The good thing about walking everywhere is that I get to stop and take pictures when I feel like it.
I’ve never really been one for sensible shoes, everyone knows that - but the thing is I don’t generally have a problem traipsing around in ridiculously high heels. However, after last Friday I discovered that stilettos don’t really work so well in the snow. It’s not like I planned to go out in stilettos, but my stupid boots - yes, the ones that already half killed me because of the holes in the soles resulting in icy, wet socks - decided to break.

We’d all gone out for dinner for Australia Day; the usual suspects, as well as some other Australian students and staff from uni. And where did we go in Strasbourg to celebrate Australia Day? A Thai restaurant! Yeah, I don’t really get it either. One of them said it was the only place here that sold kangaroo, which is kind of gross, I mean, who wants to eat Skippy on Australia Day?... don’t answer that.

After dinner we decided to go clubbing so we went back to my place first to have a few drinks to save money. And when I say save money, I mean save lots of money - alcohol is so cheap here.
The Line UpThe Line UpThe Line Up

Oh there's nothing more fun than lining up for a club in the snow!
I think the cheapest bottle of wine we’ve found so far has been 0.75€ (roughly $1.28 Australian) and it’s really good wine! A bottle of vodka’s only about 9€ ($15.30), and yet ONE GLASS of vodka and orange in a club is about 7€. Clearly, it’s much more economical to get plastered before entering a club, and once inside stay clear of the bar. (Except for the extraordinarily cute barman at Seven, but that’s a different story!)

Anyway, on the way back to my place after dinner, the heel broke off from one of my stupid, holey boots. And because of the 20kg luggage limit on the way over here I didn’t exactly pack a whole array of shoes. The only choices I had left were open toed stilettos and sneakers, and like I’m going to go dancing in sneakers!

We decided to try out a club about 15 minutes walk from my place, but after slipping and sliding around on the icy ground and having tiny pieces of snow wedge themselves in between my feet and my lovely open shoes, it appeared that the club we were looking for no longer existed! Yeah, I wasn’t so impressed with that. The snow started falling even harder and the walk back was even colder and slipperier. But we ended up going to Seven again, which, apart from the afore-mentioned bonus, is only 2 doors down from me so I didn’t have far to go home at the end of the night.

Well, the moral of this story is that now I’m sick. I’ve been sick for 3 days and I can’t stop coughing. Consider this a learned lesson on my part; that even though you may think you can drink yourself a pair of socks, it doesn’t quite work that way. So I’ve gone shopping and bought a nice, sensible pair of flat boots, that are lined with (faux) fur and have excellent grip. But no, I won’t be wearing them clubbing next time I go out. I’m not suffering that badly!

(By the way, the video at the top is the one I tried to put in last week but couldn't. I sound like a complete ditz, but it was only the second time I'd seen snow in my life so keep that in mind!)




Advertisement



31st January 2007

Video doesn't work!
Am enjoying your 'journey'. I tried to play the video but it didn't work - don't know if there is a trick to it. Hope you are feeling better.
31st January 2007

Hey Bebe!
Susin! I love your blog! You look like you are having the time of your life. I miss you babe and I can't wait to party with you in Strasbourg. Btw... I'm stealing your brillant genius blog idea! Love xx
5th February 2007

Video
Hey! I don't know why the video doesn't work, it worked on mine. If anyone can help let me know!! Thanks :-)
8th February 2007

Have fun
found your blog while surfing this site. Strasbourg is great - Alsace is our fav place in France - have fun - Lorenza
21st February 2007

Video
Hi yeah video didn't work for me either which I was spewing about, cos I really wanted to see it. Will try at work with a faster speed computer? Still enjoying the stories...
21st February 2007

Video
But it worked for Coralie - ask her how she saw it. And show mum!
24th February 2007

Can't drink yourself a pair of socks?
I thought I could make myself more attractive to others by drinking- who would of thought that you couldn't get a basic accessory like socks happening on a couple of bottles of .75 Euro red? :-) The photo of the sunset really is stunning.
14th March 2007

Video...
Cool, saw the video by using work computer (faster download), try it at work Maa. Can't wait til we get there x

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb