First Snow!!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
January 23rd 2007
Published: January 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tram StopTram StopTram Stop

This is when it had just started and the snow was still melting on the ground.
The first snow has finally arrived!

Today I woke up late - I was supposed to meet Laura who was going to come with me to open a bank account. (They’re so nice here, if you open a bank account with one of the banks they give you 40€ just to say thanks! And this one teller told Laura that for every friend she got to open an account with them, they’d give her another 20€, so of course she roped me into going to her bank. Hey, why not? I still get 40€ out of it!)

So anyway, I totally slept in today and thought I wasn’t going to make it so I text her and said we should do it later, but she wanted to come around anyway because she was feeling really down - her studio was broken into last week and all her things were taken which is pretty traumatic since they were her main links to home.

She brought around croissants for breakfast and we sat there eating in the kitchen when she just got up and ran to the window because tiny little things were floating around in the air. At first
Very Excited!!Very Excited!!Very Excited!!

We were on our way to Ikea and waiting for the shuttle bus. It was getting really cold but I was so excited I didn't care!
it didn’t look like anything, but after a while there were more and more and we realised that it was snowing. We got so excited we were jumping up and down in the kitchen like complete fools, laughing our heads of with excitement!! (Definitely Australian)

At first we thought it might be too warm for the snow not to melt on the ground, but in just an hour the whole place started looking different. It started to feel very different too - I’d never realised before, but after walking around on wet ground I got a very icy, wet sensation in my socks and realised my boots had holes in the sole! Not much fun in the snow.

After spending the day at Ikea we came back to my place and made dinner. We sat with a couple of bottles of wine and had a chat, completely forgetting about the snow, and then we looked outside and saw that it was snowing even harder, and now it's everywhere. We ran outside and were as excited as kids at Christmas time! (I wanted to add a video of this but it wouldn't let me so I'll try again later
GraveyardGraveyardGraveyard

Even the graveyard looked beautiful with snow!
in the week.) It’s so beautiful, it’s turned this place into a fairyland! I can’t wait to wake up tomorrow and see everything so white in the daytime.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Still WaitingStill Waiting
Still Waiting

Still waiting for the Ikea shuttle bus taking random street pictures...
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Nice and warm inside, cooking dinner and thawing out my iceblock feet!
Snow at nightSnow at night
Snow at night

After dinner the snow was falling hard.
RestaurantRestaurant
Restaurant

Cute little restaurant a couple of doors down from me.


25th January 2007

snow rocks
It looks so beautiful! I'm so jealous! Now I really have to start saving so I can get over there to see you. I'm so glad you're having a great time, sounds like it's everything you dreamed it would be - snowy fairytale setting and all!
29th January 2007

so pretty!
it looks so beautifull with all the snow just like a childrens book. you have to make a snowman and snoe angels for me ;-)
21st February 2007

WOW!!!
Fantastic! What a great experience, I would absolutely love that. The only time I saw snow was last time in Tassie and it was amazing... Wish I was there for that, but not the cold bit.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 86; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb