The City that Sleeps


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
January 21st 2007
Published: January 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

KristianKristianKristian

Age: 26 Occupation: Studies finance & accounting is also a ballet teacher. Favourite saying: That's as camp as a row of tents!
Strasbourg is the city that sleeps on Sundays. Completely everything is shut, no clothing stores, no grocery stores - nothing. The only places you’ll find open on a Sunday here are kebab shops, which is fitting I guess considering the only thing to do when everything is shut on Sunday is to drink on Saturday night!

Well, this was the conclusion that Laura and I came to anyway. Our Aussie foursome headed out for dinner last night to a Thai restaurant. We were all a little worried about the quality of the food as Asian food isn’t exactly France’s speciality, but it was ok. It wasn’t the best Thai around, but it wasn’t the worst either. The worst part for me is that tofu doesn’t seem to have taken off so well in the land of sausages and sauerkraut so I had to make do with just veggies with noodles that kind of resembled spaghetti. But the funniest thing was the chopsticks that looked kind of like paddle pop sticks and it was harder to figure out how to use them than it ever was to use regular chopsticks!

I had some wine at dinner which of course made
LauraLauraLaura

Age: 21 Occupation: Studies tourism & has worked in Sydney as an event planner. Oh I'm so jealous! Favourite saying: Balls! And it's completely contagious because now we're all saying it.
me feel like more. Kristian was still getting over his hangover from Thursday night and Lizette had to get up early today so they didn’t feel like drinking, but Laura was more than happy to join me. I’m starting to realise that I can always count on Laura if there’s drinking to be done - she’s going to be very bad for me. I love her!

So that was that really. A Saturday night in with a couple of bottles of wine and a sufficient enough hangover today to allow me to loll around in my bedroom, half heartedly studying and not feeling bad that the whole city’s dead around me and wishing things were open. Mission accomplished!




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

LizetteLizette
Lizette

Age: 21 Occupation: Studies engineering. Favourite saying: F#@k! Yup, she might look sweet but she swears like a trooper - too many years with the engineering boys!!


23rd January 2007

ha ha
glad you found yourself a drinking partner, saves you from becoming a lonesome wino! ha ha ha ;-)
23rd January 2007

Hi!
Hi! You don't know me.. but I came across your blog.. I miss France!! And I am very jealous that you are going to be there for a year :)
28th January 2007

Sundays!
Welcome to European Sundays! Did you know that in conservative catholic parts of Europe people even get mad at you if you do housework? Sunday is supposed to be the day of rest.... ;) I have heard of people calling the police because their neighbours hung their washing out outside.... Crazy!

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 90; dbt: 0.1018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb