repas américain!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Mulhouse
February 5th 2009
Published: February 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Salut!

Last week I wrote you all about cooking an American meal for the family I spend every Sunday with. It was a great success! I made Sloppy Joes, and insisted they use their hands to eat it (which everyone did), cornbread, applesauce, and a shoo-fly pie. They loved it! Pascale invited Marc and his wife over to join us too. Although we ate some American food, it was still a bit French influenced because we had some little appetizers and a Cremant d'Alsace rosé, which is a sparkling wine unique to the region of Alsace. With lunch Jean-Pierre poured us all a glass of wine, which was kind weird since we were eating sloppy joes, but oh well. Also, we sat there eating and talking for about 2 1/2 hours. It was a great afternoon and everyone loved my "repas americain!"

Today is Friday and normally I have class from 9-12, but the teachers had a big meeting so she canceled class. Tonight I'm going to see "La Sylphide," a ballet, with Pascale and Estelle. I'm very excited!

Ciao!

Kristen

Advertisement



6th February 2009

OMG
KREI!!! That sounds like the most delectable meal ever - I love Sloppy Joes and I am particularly proud of your use of my homeland favorite: Shoo-fly pie! How Lancaster of you!!!
6th February 2009

:)
Sounds like your dinner was delicious! Glad that all is well! Hope you enjoyed the ballet!
7th February 2009

Hi Kristen! I always enjoy reading your blogs and keeping up with what you are doing. So you're not only a world traveler, you're a great cook too! I wish classes in the US were cancelled as much as they seem to be in France. I could use some days off! You are having some wonderful experiences! Keep enjoying your time in France!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb