La Grève


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Mulhouse
January 28th 2009
Published: January 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi from Mulhouse!

I enjoy sharing with you the wonderful French hobby of striking! Yesterday was a big strike and many teachers were not in school. Marc, one of the English teachers e-mailed me yesterday morning before class to tell me he would not be coming to school explaining:

"Hello Kristen
There is a general strike today against the government policy. I'm a striker so I won't go to the lycée.
I told my students so nobody will be there...
Have a nice day
Marc"

If only all my teachers decided to go on strike yesterday! lol. Little did I know that buses would be on strike too. My 11am class and afternoon class were still on so I planned to catch the 10:35 bus. However, that bus never came, nor the next two and I ended up having to walk to school. There were some buses still running but my line, Bus 10 never came....I was able to catch a bus home thankfully! Strikes here are always so interesting, but I must say I haven't seen anything like I did three years ago,
when I was studying in Montpellier and they were striking against the "CPE contract."

In other news, this weekend I'm cooking a meal for the French family I visit every Sunday. They really have become my adopted family over the past few months so I thought it would be nice to share with them "un repas amèricain!" They are very excited as I am too.

Hmmm, last Thursday we went to Basel in Switzerland for some Scottish celebration of Robert Burns, a famous Scottish poet. My friend Ross insisted we all go for a good night of traditional Scottish music, whiskey tastings, and of course Haggis! It was a lot of fun!

I can't believe it's already January 30th! How time flies when you're having fun!!! Just think, Papa, I'll be home before you know it! lol.

Keep reading my blog! I love hearing from all of you with your comments!

À la prochaine!

Kristen 😊




Advertisement



30th January 2009

Dinner!
Hey, Kristen! You'll have to tell us about the American meal you prepare and how the French family likes our fare. So much fun!!
30th January 2009

what's for dinner
ok Kris - is it hot dogs and baked beans? Jello? Deviled eggs? Maybe roast beef, mashed potatoes and string beans? Meat Loaf? What are you going to make??? Keep up the fun! Love, Aunt Kate

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb