Just another Monday


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Guebwiller
March 19th 2012
Published: March 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Not much to blog about today - life in France is still as rich (meaning it's full of great and difficult moments), enjoyable (meaning I love it 99% of the time - the other 1% of the time I'm thinking of the food back home or English tv) and beautiful (meaning it hardly ever rains but more importantly, that I wouldn't want to be anywhere else). I am so lucky to be here,doing what I'm doing and gaining the experiences that I'm gaining - it's taken me a long time to realize just how incredibly lucky I am. The more time passes the more I think of how sad it will be to leave this life - but I'm sure God's got great stuff in store for me after this year is up. In fact, I know He has. BIGGER and BETTER plans than I could ever possibly imagine.

I got up this morning, debating whether to cycle to school today, but when I looked outside and saw that the Alsacian sun has completely disappeared, I decided against it. I like being able to get ready in the morning and know that my efforts will not be in vain after a tiring cycle ride to school.

So I went in with Anais comme d'habitude and spent the first couple of hours in the teaching area,making the final prep for my lesson,reading my Bible and just soaking in the quiet and peaceful atmosphere of College Daniel.

The English lesson that morning was well-prepared and fairly simple - I'd been busy the evening before drawing and colouring bedroom objects, making use of my artistic side and thinking to myself what a lucky teacher I am to have enough time to be able to do that kind of thing.

The afternoon in La Maternelle was pretty chilled too but became more stressful and tiring towards the end. For the first 2.5 hours that I was there I got to read (I kept thinking what kind of great job is this? That I can just be so chilled). It was in fact because I was in charge of the kids nap and then afterwards I had to keep and eye on two or three of the kids whilst Veronique took the rest of the class for a lesson.

It was pretty cool like I said but later on I was working with a deaf girl and that can be tough (especially as I only know a handful of signs to be able to communicate with her) and after that Veronique left me to look after the kids including two very hyperactive and disresptful little boys - it can be hard trying to vent my anger in French sometimes!

As a result I got home pretty exhausted and plonked myself in front of You Tube to watch 'Under the Greenwood Tree' - a classic romantic period drama to help me escape the woes and joys of working with children.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb