Home. Hameenlinna to Wales and Back again.


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland
September 16th 2014
Published: September 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It's 7.58 in Finland and i've already cycled two miles, been on a bus for an hour and fifteen minutes and waited in the airport for two hours.. i'm supposed to be catching a flight back to London in... twelve minutes but like always when i travel anywhere by anything other than a car or bike...it's delayed.. by an hour and twenty minutes.. greaaat. For those who are wondering why i'm on my way home, No i haven't given up, or been so homesick that I've had to come visit. My Nans been taken ill at home and there is no other place i would be other than Wales right now. For those of you who know me well enough you know that me and my nan don't have a relationship like most Grandparents and Grandchildren and i know its cliche to say it but she really is one of my best friends. i've always been lucky enough that my grandparents have played a huge part in my life growing up, they were always there at birthdays, christmas's and everything in-between. My mum wanted me to have this bond with my Nan and Dad as her mum and dad had passed away before i got the chance to meet them, because of this i grew up really, with an extra set of parents. There are so many memories i could write down on this but i could be here all day.
When my Grandfather passed away six years ago, me and Nan took refuge in each other instead of being sad that we had lost him we used each others strength to get through it, we had a mutual understanding that Dad was still here watching over us and telling us what to do, even if it might not be true, for me it helps to know he's up there watching and i know it does with nan too. Without Nans, (and obviously the parents) encouraging me in to go to Carmarthen to do my foundation year, University in Cardiff and no doubt i wouldn't be sitting in Helsinki airport right now without her telling me stories of when her and Dad moved to Yugoslavia and how proud she was of me for doing it.

In 2010 we went to Spain together and if nobodies ever been and they have a grandmother like mine, you have to go on holiday with them because it honestly is the best laugh! Anyone who knows Nan she's loopy as anything and deaf as a post (although she'll never admit it), mixed in with a few shandies one night, was just an experience i can't even explain ha!! i think we laughed non stop for the week, when she ate deserts as starters or when she braved the water, (nan can't swim and bloody hates the water.) When we went to the pool and i would go to the bathroom, if i wasn't back within five minutes... she'd packed everything up and was coming to find me incase, "a spanish man took" me i was nearly eighteen at this point too.. and no one would have taken me when she was around haha.

Over the past six years she's been such an inspiration she's so so strong and insanely independent for a lady in her seventies and i know she will get through whatever life throws at her because not only is she the strongest, funniest most amazing woman i know.. she also has the best guardian angel up there watching her and all of us.

I see nan at least twice a week, speak to her nearly everyday about complete nonsense and spend more time with her than i do with most people and i just can't sit miles away not knowing whats going on because of shittie signal, no internet so i can receive texts and no house phone either.



As much as i feel i am leaving Finland too early, it's just for a little while and if i'm honest the idea of going home now exciting, i can't wait to see my family my Cat :D and Eli and Caitlin :D



See you in a while wales!

xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb