You're going to Finland as a WHAT?!


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland
September 8th 2009
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

You go to Finland as a WHAT?!



The idea
In January 2007 I went to Norway to a Sleddogcenter for one week of Sleddogriding. It was like heaven to me and I felt as happy as never before. They had one girl working as a doghandler there and I thought "That must be a great job - Outdoor, Dogs and a lot of 'Sport'"
As most of you know I went on a trip for 21 month to New Zealand, Australia, Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand and during this trip I was thinking what the future brings.
For me it had to be something adventurous again so I decided to just try my luck and work for a sleddogcenter in one scandinavian country as I wanted to stay in Europe for a year or two before going to see the whole wide world again.
One Sleddogcenter replied from Finland, Äkäskero, (www.akaskero.com).
I was really happy and still am.

Prospects
I hope to have a lot of fun and adventure but of course I do know that it's going to be hard work.
I just hope that the team is great and I'm going to get to know some great new people.

the work
It's basicly EVERYTHING. From looking after the dogs to building new things to keeping the ways free and so on and so on. I think I can only tell you how work is when I am there but I'm aware of the fact that it's not going to be easy. At least not in the beginning.

short packlist
A lot of clothes for the cold weather. We get workclothes but that's just something to wear over our own warm clothes as far as I know. It's really funny how much more space winterclothes need compared to summer clothes.
Anyway as I can't bring all the really really thick stuff for the really really really cold time my Mum is going to send a parcel with some more stuff once I'm up there :-)
Of course my macbook is going to travel with me including music, films, and of course PHOTOS!!! So you are all going to travel with me that I'm not so alone :-)

communication
I'll have my mobile with me so you can reach me via SMS on +49 176 20934896 or, if I have the time to get myself a Finish SIMcard I'll txt the ones I have the mobilenumber off my new number.
I'm not going to have internet up there in the beginning but going to buy a surfstick as soon as someone up there helps me which I have to buy and how that works :-)
So every now and then (not really often will have other things to do) I try to catch up with you all via email, facebook, WKW, studivz or whereever and write a little something here.
You can subscribe this blog and get an email everytime I write something that you are always up to date :-)

LOVE AND MISS YA ALL!


Advertisement



9th September 2009

:-)
Gute Reise! Ich freu mich jetzt schon tierisch auf deine neuen Berichte! :-)
10th September 2009

ja immer schön berichten. und wie kalt ist es in finnland?

Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb