Thu 02/19/09 (Day 19) - Baked Pancakes


Advertisement
Finland's flag
Europe » Finland » Pirkanmaa » Tampere
February 19th 2009
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

MooseMooseMoose

Someone thinks we might see a moose here.
It's Pea Soup Day again in Finland. This time Dave tried it and loved it. I'm tellin' ya, it's good stuff! I added the pancakes today. That's the tradition: Pea Soup, pancakes and jam. The pancakes are a somewhat chewy, baked sort of thing. Quite tasty, and today was strawberry jam. All in all a good lunch.

After a drive, sans moose, I met a friend for dinner. I'm starting to like this having company besides Dave thing, haha. Ate at the Ravintola Astor which I'd been too before. It was just as good as last time, although the service is a bit "French", i.e. relatively prompt, but definitely not polite. Surprise, surprise... I did not have the grilled goat cheese salad. I went with Menu #2. Starter was Chanterelle soup, nice and creamy. They add more herbs to their mushroom soup than I do, and it's quite good so I think I'll be modifiying my mushroom soup recipe when I get home. The main course was a filet of reindeer in game sauce. The filet was done medium-rare, just as i ordered it and was very tender. The "game sauce" seemed to be nothing more than a very light gravy, possibly from the drippings of my filet and some added cream. This was served with some very tart cranberries and roasted vegetables. Not the best meal I've had, but definitely a good meal. Dessert was a chestnut-chocolate mousse with amaretto sauce. You wanna talk about rich! Wow! If Maria is reading this I think it's worth the trip just for this mousse!

Good dinner, good company, good night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb