Tallinn piccy update


Advertisement
Estonia's flag
Europe » Estonia » Tallinn
August 21st 2009
Published: August 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Helsinki churchHelsinki churchHelsinki church

I think it is called Kallion Kirkko (last being church - no surprise there)
OK folks - in Tallinn and this day 3 and I leave tomorrow - to go somewhere - better have a read and work out where that is going to be I expect! as I have been so slack in getting myself organised to "do the sights" I had to book an extra nite (but its very nice here anyway of course - medieval city blah blah) in the St Olav's hotel (more on that later) on the net via Expedia-AU as it is way cheaper than paying direct here - I paid around 750 E Kroons - local rate is 1100 I think.

the main purpose is to post some of my own opix - rather than those borrowed form the - er - public domain as have all the otehrs previously - thank you Google pix search! I had a technical problem with my wee lappy and it would not allow to me to load external media - altho it had done so before - just started before Ieft. I thought I had a "recipe" to fix it that did not work which was a little frustrating - but after an hour of googling this morning (its noon
Kallion Kirkko 2Kallion Kirkko 2Kallion Kirkko 2

wider street view - I thought it was a war memorial from a distance when I hopped off the tram to have a look
and I should be out doing the aforementioned sight seeing! - but hey, this is very important - me blog an d no pix? I dont think so!) - it now seems to be fixed. So I can finally upload some pix - bit jumbled but better than nothing - some from Helsinki from my small camera to start with.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Helsinki aptmt bldgHelsinki aptmt bldg
Helsinki aptmt bldg

late afternoon - near Kirkko
Scandic Grand Marina HotelScandic Grand Marina Hotel
Scandic Grand Marina Hotel

my 2nd hotel in Helsinki - certainly looks like converted docks warehouse
Suommenlinna Island bldgSuommenlinna Island bldg
Suommenlinna Island bldg

15 mins by ferry in Helsinki hbr - very dusk at 9pm - 900 people live there but they still run ferries til 2am! (Sydney ferries eat your heart out)
Tallink Superstar ferryTallink Superstar ferry
Tallink Superstar ferry

coming into Tallinn - looks like the Crystal Voyager with massive glass atrium at the front - coming into Tallinn port
Tallin ferry portTallin ferry port
Tallin ferry port

coming into port


21st August 2009

Hi Michael
Hi Michael, quite envious! looks like a fab trip. Keep blogging....But don't talk to any stray Indians. :-)

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb