Estonia


Advertisement
Estonia's flag
Europe » Estonia » Tallinn
February 19th 2006
Published: February 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

the viewthe viewthe view

from inside the boat that is
oh eastern europe. how entertaining you are. I took a cruise from Stockholm to Tallin with a brief, 10 min, docking in Finland. The cruise was... interesting. That night we enjoyed cheap food at the "fast food" joint, some duty free shopping, karaoke and the aluminum club. Then we got off at about 10:30 in Tallin, walked through Gamla Stan there (which is apparently one of the most preserved), did a little shopping, and was back on the boat by 4:30. I even had authentic Estonian food: fried rye bread (delicious) and Farm Gir's Stew (vegetables and broth--kind of boring. luckily the bread was very filling). I bought a shirt that I was told said "don't tell/speak" in russian but apparently it means shut up. I thought I was getting some communist propoganda or something but oh well. I also bought those little marushka or baruskha dolls whatever they are called, one that was typical and one that started with George bush, went to clint, then bush sr., regan, and carter.
The next night I spent a lovely evening speaking in swedish with some lumberjacks who apparently were in estonia hunting for wolves and wild boars... i don't know. but they helped me with my pronunciation.
This weekend I head to London till the 28th and then prague and a 6 hour lay over in Amsterdam with peter.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

inside the churchinside the church
inside the church

before we were kicked out
part of the gian squarepart of the gian square
part of the gian square

how many people do you think were executed here?
the first estonian pubthe first estonian pub
the first estonian pub

i didn't go in, but the picture and name entertained me


Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb