Norway Bergen


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Sjælland
June 30th 2009
Published: July 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke up around 7ish in the morning with the sun and wintnessed all the specatcular snow capped mountains, and lovely streams running down from them. The lot of them hooligans were now asleep. One of them even had an open can of beer in his hand for when he woke up!! I had a serious build up of wax in the morning and my ears were even hurting a small bit from the pressure in the tunnels maybe.
I started getting into adventure mode now preparing myself for the stop and what I was gonna get up to. Got to the stop and hopped out with all my bags. I think I was the last one off actually. Everyone wants to be first....i have time to relax. Got out and decided to book my next train to make sure i wouldnt be stuck here.I wanted to see the scenic route through Flam but it was like 40 dollars extra or something and it wouldnt work to make it back in time to get the night train I wanted. Norway is supposed to be one of the MOST expensive in the world. Looked left and then right to decide which way i wanted to go. I went the scenic route not knowing i was going away from the center. Not a bad decision though the cliff up in front of me was amazing. Filled with old colorfull buildings hanging like ornaments from a tree. I sat down on a park bench and finished off the juice i bought in Oslo for my booze which i never touched!!! Heavy little bottle too. I had way more shit on me now then i ever had the first month.
I needed to find a cable for this damn computer i bought and ha no plug useable anywhere around Europe with the two prongs. I used it on the train and its dead so its useless hahaha. So i decided i would make time for this later. I walked down through the main sqauare in Bergen where the fish market is and the national monumert houses went down the harbour. After that I walked through Brygen an old fishing settlement in town which was really old. I think it was from the 1700s. They had a major restoration program going and had some areas marked off where they were working. The workers were all sitting around before work chatting and I stroll through with my bag on looking around. No one else was around so they must have thought I was some crazy guy. Walked up the huge steps and threw the bag off my back to decide what I was gonna do next.
Decided to walk down to the castle at the tip of the harbour. They had a cool tram up the mountain I was thinking might be cool. Looked like aways away though. Major concern was this laptop and booking hostels and trains. Got to the castle they had a big Opera concert there last night I think. There were tons of people organizing all the equipment around the grounds. Not too much interesting things to see. Walked around then set back out through the back streets. Lovely flowers everywhere. It was totally an old persons haven. Went back to the market looked like people were around now. Saw some interesting things for sale. There was a wolf hide I got a picture of, seal hides, and sorts of other fuzzy animals.
Went past the fish stands. They convinced me to try some of their imperial white salmon. Best fish in Norway they said. Tasted very very good. I probably looked like I was gonna buy a kilo but I said thanks see yah! Saw they were selling whale meat at the next stand over. Should of tried it for fun but I didnt want them to try and con me into buying any.
Went over to McDonalds for a cheap meal and to try and find a plug for the internet. No such luck. 15 dollars I think it cost me for a simple burger meal!!!! Ouch in hindsight I should have told them to blow it out there ass but it just started to rain and I had to use the washroom as well. Got upstairs to realize about the plugs. Washroom had no toilet paper and was disgusting. The seat wasnt even attached. I was pretty angry by now. Felt like a sucker.
After I finished my measly crap meal I went down to ask about finding a cord. They recommended checking out the mall. Thanked them and then set off for the shops. Found a mall and there definetly wasnt any computer stores around. Walked up the road and found an apple store and crossed my fingers. They didnt have anything but they told me about a store just up the road by the train station that I could probably find something. Walked through the huge mall and found the store at the top. Had all sorts of cords around and handy little gadgets. Found the right cord for 10 dollars. Threw it in the bag and went to try it out.. My train didnt come till around 330 and it was only 145 so I went to the library to use the computer. It worked as well so I was pretty happy about that. First sign of luck today!! Wicked little library. Free wifi and had a bunch of computers set up. No passwords needed or anything. It was like a cool little hangout. Sat beside this other guy with a mac. Talked to a bunch of people on facebook checked the news in the Times Colonist. Was really nice to read that. Felt not so far away from home. They closed at 3 so I was the last one out packing up. Thanked the lady and went to the station. Mass confusion cause the train hadnt showed up yet. Poured myself a drink and listened to some tunes leisurely. Hahaha.
Turns out there was a fire on that train we were supposed to take and there was gonna be some big delays!! Problem was I had a connector train out of Oslo to catch and wanted to check out Oslo as well. The whole mass of people trying to get on that train were frantic with the conductor standing there. We all got on another train and settled in. Mad dash to the train though, pretty funny. I got there in good time and found a free spot. This older fellow sat down beside me. Got to talking about Norway and my and his travels. He was born there and was visiting his daughter and grandchildren as he does quite often. He spoke really good English I told him. He was very happy to hear that. Then we all had to get off the train so that train could go back to Bergen and remain on schedule. We had to wait outside at the station for 30 mins and people were getting a bit angry at this delay. I was starting to get abit worried about my connection but it wasnt in my hands to worry about.
Train came and everyone got on in good spirits. No internet onboard which kinda sucks. Most of the seats didnt have plugs either but I managed to find one in first class.Told the conductor about my ticket and they said to worry about it a bit closer to the time.The train ride was absolutely beautiful. Snow everywhere, I think the highest we got was 1200 m above sea level. One of the lakes was completely frozen in JUNE. Waterfalls everywhere down the moutains and tons of lakes. Quite nice.About 3 hrs in to the 6 hr journey the conductor came up to me and told me about the plan at hand. There was 6 other people taking the same train to Trondeheim and the company had hired a taxi to take us to meet up with the train at the Oslo airport. So much for seeing any of Oslo.Ah well I was happy I didnt waste any money on a reservation and wasnt stranded without a hostel. So we got to this stop in the middle of nowhere and the taxi was waiting as planned. I was the first one there. I had everything ready in case it was a rush to make it. Got into the huge 10 seater van with all the fancy gadgets onboard. The other 5 made it over and piled in all their luggage. I sat in the back with my bag.
Took us quite awhile to make it to the airport. We went through this AMAZING tunnel as well. Lasted like 10 mins thorugh this thing. There was other roads in it as well veering off to the sides. Solid rock on the walls. Must have taken forever to build this sucker. Had to go through a toll at the end. Gotta pay for it somehow. I think it cost like 3000 kr Norwegian which is the most expensive. OUCH ah well at least we werent stuck they would probably have to pay a hotel cost. HAHAHA
Was kind of rushed at the airport because I didnt know when it was coming so I frantically rushed to the sign and misread it that it was leaving in 5 mins. Turns out it was leaving in an hour and five mins!! Almost seemed like we could of made it back n that train!! Wast much food around as I relaxed realizing my error. Pizza place was just closing as I asked the waitress. Expensive ass shit anyways. Got myself a Panini and sat down at the end of a row of people reading and sleeping. Saw a few of the others who were in the taxi and my mind was at ease.
Dinner wasnt very good not after being used to all the Danish food I had been endulging in.
Got on the train and found my seat easily. The next stop after a woman sat down beside me. She left after about 30 mins and I had room to spread out.Got to sleep around 12 ish. NIGHTY NIGHT DAY 2 COMPLETE!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb