Safari and gettin drunk


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Sjælland
June 27th 2009
Published: July 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke up bright eyed and bushy tailed at 815. Svetlana was already up and running making pancakes for the army. We wanted to leave as early as possible Problem was that Vadim and Maria didnt wake up that early on vacation. They finally got up around 930 and had some breakfast.
We were all in the car driving out the driveway at 945 which wasnt that bad. Had to get gas on the way down south. Took the bridge over the water leaving Sjealand behind. Got to the park around 1230 after one pit stop for a quick pee and so Benny could fill up the old pipe.
WOW simply amazing how big this park was. We got to the gates and it was kinda expensive i think it was 200 for all of us Canadian. They wouldnt let me pay. Benny told me to spend the money on Svetlana for something. Alright will do. 660 Hectares of land and over 20 kms of roads to drive around this paradise of a zoo. You had to have a car without a rag soft top in case the tigers thought you were tasty for some reason. I think they let in motorbikes though!! We drove in with the huge map they gave us and stopped right away to get out and see the donkies. Not the most spectacular animal in the world but it was definetly interesting. Pet all sorts of them. Usually donkies are sporatic types but not these guys. They let you pet them jump on or whatever you wanted to do. Lots of babies as well. Got a few pics and walked over the field to visit the deer and goats. Some of the goats had HUGE teets dragging as they walked.,Pretty funny to see that.
I got somewhat close to the group of horned deer but as soon as I got any closer they scattered. I chased em a bit to get em going but they were pretty boring to be honest. I had to dodge millions of shits all over the field. It was beautiful weather so I wanted to wear sandals but it was pretty risky. Ha jumping and trying to miss it all it was pretty funny.
Got to the car and a tour of FERRARI's drove by, My jaw dropped. I took quite a few pics but nothing could really capture what was happening. Probably 15 of these red ferraris from the late 80s to brand new cruised by me. Must have been a club of something. WOW I was really impressed. We had a bottle of coke and shared it around with plastic glasses. They spoke Russian amongst themselves mostly cause Maria didnt understand any English or Danish. So when Benny spoke Svetlana and Vadim all understood but I just sat there and was clueless. HAHAHA not that i was complaining either.
Drove past the girrafs and horned cows. I think that area was all African animals. Really cool to see girrafs crossing the road free to roam past you. There was Wildebeas, Rhinos, and Ostrichs all over the damn place. They were feeding the girrafs trees and hordes of ppl were all taking pictures from this fenced area. I didnt get a good enough picture of it being on the complete wrong side of the car but a baby was in the drivers seat of this car driving in its dads lap. SOOOOOOOOO funny i wish i got a better picture, It had borth of its hands on the steering wheel as they drove by us. Crazy we just hoped they didnt crash into us if something went wrong.
We stopped at the brid park and had a bite to eat and some coffee. Benny must have been dying. Saw a pond of turtles but that wasnt too impressive seeing the same thing in a hotel Cuba. Parrots small monkeys and all sorts of tropical birds. Found a nice little picnic bench and sat down to have a bite to eat. I think Vadim prepared all the sangys cause he said you should all thank me cause I slaved over a hot stove all day for these. HAHAHa he had a sense of humour ill give him that.
After that we carried on walking towards to the kangaroo park. Miniature kangaroos for sure. They wernt over 2 ft any of them, Not how ive ever pictured kangaroo at all. The pity was they were just sitting there with there paws in curled in like Mr Burns!! We had to get em moving so I picked up a rock and kind of playfully threw it near them. Luckily no one saw this too. That never worked so we decided Vadim and I that it would be a good idea to go in there and get em to move around!! Well we kind of chickened out halfway cause we would have got in serious trouble but it worked. They were hoping around like mad!! HAHAHA pretty funny stunt.
Next we walked back to the car and headed for the lion pen. Supposed to be the highlight of the journey, it was like getting into Jurrasic park with all the timed fences and such! The pity was that there was only like 5 of them and they were all just hanging out by the fence you drive into. We drove around the whole area that they have and there wasnt anything at all. HAHA just goes to show, if you give something more then they need they never take advantage of it.I never even got one decent picture of those buggers being on the opposite side of the car. Ha, so we left and went to the baboon pen. Hundred of these freaking things. There was a bus you could pay to take and feed them pasta which they jumped all over the damn bus for. They fought as well which was pretty wicked to see. Young old and brandnew there was tons of baboons everywhere. I decided not to take the tram cause they just did a loop around and it didnt look like it was worth it. I jumped over the wood fence to get some better pics but there was still a chain fence in front of me. Dont get me wrong I sure as hell wouldnt be going in that pen. After that we walked over to the Lemur pen to check them out. They were all asleep in a ball. When you made a bit of noise they woke up at least one of them did. Just keeping an eye out for the rest of em im guessing.
After that we walked back to the car and I told them we should get some better close ups of the girrafs and they agreed.
Went right up to the fence where the Ostrichs were hanging out and found a feather there which Maria was really excited to get. I sure as hell didnt want it. Weird fur though. It looked really bizzare up close like you could see the molecules it was made of. After a few mins the girrafs saw us gathering around and thought they were gonna be fed so I jumped up on the fence and waited for them. Really cool to see girrafs up close. Never thought I would have seen them in Denmark either but thats life for yah. After awhile of that we took the road back through the Sahara section.Got great pics of the three Rhinos bathing in a small mud pit and the Zebras mustering about eating grass and such.
Really cool just to be so close to them. Couldnt get out and it probably wouldnt have been very smart either. The Rhinos horns in the front were freaking HUGE!!! Supposedly there made of a tough hair that they produce and not bone. Just what I was told though.After that we went off through the North Ameriacan part. Saw some moose hiding about in the forrest. Supposed to be some beavers around but didnt see any. Ive seen enough of those though!!!
Drove quite a ways before we saw anything else. Then all of a sudden there were these HUGE camels stumbling about in front of cars. Ponies camels and llamas all in the same part together.One of the camels was leaning against the car and chewing on the antenna it had. Pretty funny to see I shot a picture of it as well. Got some pics with the camels and ponies and then we were off leaving the park behind.
Next stop was Mons Klint. The second most beautiful spot in all of Denmark. It was a bit of a ways away and I might have taken a small nap on the way. We stopped for another sandwhich and some drinks at a rest stop on the way. We got over the bridge and there were these kite boarders just like back at home. They were everywhere just whipping around in the ocean. I have to try that someday definetly. Took us about an hour or so to get to the Klints which means cliff in Danish.
They were all made of sandstone. Millions and millions of years it took to make this magnificient sight. Very cool to see. We walked up the path to check it out. It dawned on them when we got up there that I had to be back around 8ish to meet up with Renee and Heidi for this Hounfest so we couldnt take the long route around which would have been around 2 hrs they said. I just wanted to check it out I would have run it if I had to. We decided to walk down the steps again and take the short route. It ended up there anyhow and probably was just as nice they said. Wow this climb beat the hell out of Balmacara beach in Victoria thats for sure. Tons and tons of steps. Vadim was complaining he said that I had to carry him up cause he didnt think he could do it himself. Ha what a wussy. I dont think his gf complains as much as him but shes pretty quiet.
Got down to the bottom and it was stunning. Quite something to see. There were all these crazy shaped rocks down there and balls of sandstone that smushed into a chalk paste in your hand. I got a picture of this. Walked out to the ocean giving Benny my wallet and camera to keep a hold of. Got quite a few pics of this.
Now it was time to make it back up the steep steps. All these beers have turned me into a lazy bastard!! Nah thats not true I was planning on being the first up for sure. Vadim told me I couldnt take more than one step at a time. He said ah thats cheating. He ended up JUST beating me to the top that tall bastard. HAHA oh well.
Got to the car and headed back to sweet home old Dalmose. Got back around 750 and Renee told me he would pick me up around 830 the bugger. No rest at all. Svetlana put some stuff together quick and as we were sitting down Renee showed up in his little shit box car that Svetlana sold him. Haha he was all dressed up and even had his freaking hair done. I was shocked. He was ready to party tonight I could tell. He said ahh Benny maybe you could pick us up in the city when were done around 7 or 8. HAHAHA i didnt believe that bugger but he wasnt kidding I found out.
Got into the car and I brought my new sweater just in case we were outside and it was cold later on. Drove over to Heidis place to find her suprisingly all ready to go. I got the grand tour of her newly updated place. Very nice. Shes only 23 and she has a freaking house!!! I must be doing something wrong. Nah its cause she has her hubbies income as well.
She had a very sweet black lab that was the daughter of Kenneths dog.
I also got to meet Heidis hubby who I never met before. His name was Pear. He had been out all day where we were near Knuthenborg racing cars. I thought he might be joining us to go to the city but he wasnt interested in that at all. He offered me this huge ball of hash which I had to decline after he heard I had been to Christiana. Hahaha pretty funny. He said ok thats fine I guess.Had a few vodka drinks with them and it was time to hit the road to Slagelse.
We got in the car and took a quick side trip to see Villys old place the Ranch that I had visited the last time I was there riding horses and what not. It looked NOTHING like I remembered at all. Everything was overgrown and looked different. Villy hadnt lived there for like 6 years or something now. Renee hadnt been there either in a long long time. After we got back in the car we turned the radio on. I told him to turn it up a bit and he said ahhhhhhhh well hold on a minute here cause I have something better than this shit. ACDC the Razors edge. Thunderstruck was pounding on the small little system but we were rocking out screaming out the window. Heidi thought this was hillarious. Definetly good stuff to get into the drinking mood. I was already well on my way now after only eating a little bit and drinking quite a bit of Vodka.
Got to Slagelse and finished off the beers that Renee had in his car. Locked her up and we were off to check out this show that we could hear from the parking lot. They wouldnt let us bring our own beers in so we had to be quick about finishing them. That was no problems at all. Got inside and ordered the biggest beers we could get. Not cheap at all either. I think they were 10 dollars or something each for a half litre. Ouch Renee had this one though!!!! The guy who was playing was called the Teddy Bear. He was this fat ass bass player who played a type of rock which was very famous in Denmark. It was very special for the town that he was playing for free and most of the town was out to see the show. It was kinda fun not very young crowd though. Everyone from the grandmas and little children were out in force. We had a few trips to the beer stand.
After it was all done we headed to the bar. The one we found that looked the best was called Night Train. They gave us these infared stamps on the wrist ive never seen before. The bouncer spoke to me in Danish to go down these steps and not the other ones and I didnt understand and kept going. He grabbed me and pulled me back. Kinda funny!! I was kinda shocked and didnt know what the hell was going on. Not a big deal though. Got inside and ordered the first round. This was a cool place which had three different rooms of music and bars everywhere. I took Heidi out on the dance floor and Renee had another girl. It was a blast. Drinking drinking drinking. They played mostly American pop music and some oldies which was cool to hear.
At about 3 am the sun started to go up and I busted Renee and Heidi smoking outside the punks!! I grabbed her ciggarette and chucked it on top of the patio umbrella burning a hole in it!!! She was kinda mad at me but I made my point.
I met lotsa ppl there all different types of crazies. They were amazed that I was in Slagelse of all places from Canada. Kinda funny this one girl was speaking to me for a few mins in Danish and I was just nodding my head. Heidi stopped her after awhile and said ohhh hes from Canada no Danish. hahaha she was really embarrased. I guess I could have told her that but I was pretty hammered by now.The sun was fully up and I managed to score a straw hat from god knows where. Dancing all night long I was starting to get a bit tired. Not really used to this European style of partying till the sun comes up. Made Canada look like a tame place to party. Im not really your typical bar star though. I was still up and going but I was fading more and more. Then at around 630 that was it they kicked us all the hell out.
Time for food Renee said. Lets get a burger over here. I stayed with Heidi who had to get some cash out of the bank. We had a pretty in depth conversation for 6am and she told me some things I will never forget.
The burgers were wicked. Renee bought me one which was exactly what I needed for this poison tank I was carrying. I finished up and he said ahhh well I gotta get another one in which we had to wait for him for. I met Heidis first bf who was walking around amongst the scene of party goers. The pleasure girls were also out in force trying to drag any client home they could. They were all middle eastern im guessing Turkish or something. Heidi was all worried cause she told Pear she would be home at 430 and it was a bit later than that now. She said Ive never done this before and stayed out later than I said I would and she felt bad about it. HAHA if he was so worried about it he could of picked our asses up and saved and expensive ass taxi ride.
We jumped in the taxi and dropped off Heidi first cause she was closest. Then off to Dalmose. I made sure that the taxi dropped me off on the main road and didnt drive to Bennies cause I was choked about how much it would cost. Renee was worried about me and I said come on man i need some air anyways. I opened the door said goodbye and they were off. Simple as that. I win. hahaha
I made my way down the road in the bright sun with my straw hat feeling a little foolish and juvenile being out this late. I actually saw Svetlana on her way to work but she never waved or anything. I thought she might be dissapointed but who knows its pretty early. It took me awhile to get there. THe trouble was when I made it to Bennies driveway I had to take a crap big time. It wasnt pretty. I had to wiggle my way up the gravel road taking my time!!!! I couldnt help but laugh the whole way up there. Got up to the house thank god and Benny was up having his coffee at the table. He was looking very tired. I think he might have been a little worried that I wasnt making it home. Told him I had a great time and hit the bathroom. It was terrible, i could smell the booze steaming out of me!!! I probably shouldnt have been so in depth here but its only the truth!!
After a while of chatting with Benny I headed off for a few hours of sleep and Benny went out to do some weeding.
AHHHHHHHHHHHHHh night night



Additional photos below
Photos: 57, Displayed: 35


Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1008s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb