Intro Camp


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Midtjylland » Aarhus
September 2nd 2009
Published: September 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

North americaaaaNorth americaaaaNorth americaaaa

Alex(canada) me, Hannah (america)


So I have been here for a month, and so far so good. Not much has changed, I still don’t know Danish, but I did go to camp, whish was pretty cool. It was a week long, and there were 150 exchange students there, from all over the world. It was pretty intense to experience like 10 different cultures, but also in like 100 different ways. Ever exchange student is so different and has such a different view on things. But basically were all the same because were going through the same things. I met some people ill probably be friends with not only the whole time I’m here but long after that! During camp we did 6 hours of Danish a day, for 4 days. I learned how to say stuff like “hi my name is Chandler, I come from USA” but not really anything else helpful. Of course I can say the funny things we all needed to learn, like slut, and bitch, and what not. But Danish really is so hard. Seriously, Danish has NO rules, like in Spanish you have masculine and feminine verbs and what not, and like rules for pattern of speech, but
ChurchChurchChurch

tomb :)
in Danish, you just have to know, and like sentences a lot of the times don’t translate into anything comprehendible in English, you just have to know. This sucks, because that means its ALLL memorization, and let’s just say my memory sucks. The teachers were young and very helpful when it came to all our random questions about Danish culture, because believe me it is so much different. We also went to this Amazing church in Viborg, and then spent a day in Arhus, where we visited an art museum and went shopping. Arhus is the second biggest city in Denmark, so its much like Copenhagen, or that’s what the Copenhagen area exchangies said. The last night we had a little “party” and that’s where there was a very nice dinner (paper placemats and all) and then a talent show where I sung “Its America” by Rodney Atkins with another American from Florida, and lets just say since I’ve never even heard of the song before, it was the funniest thing ever. Then after there was a pretty sweet little dance where we all partied till our strict curfew of 1 AM! (: OH we also met some of the
:):):)

Mateus(brazil) me, Maddy(Canada), Sean (NM)
oldies, which are the Aussies and New Zealanders who have been here for 7 months already! They were so excited to meet all of us, especially me, because my name is Chandler “JUST LIKE FRIENDS!” Haha. Other then intro camp not much has happened. I Move to my first family on Sunday, which is really exciting! They seem like such cool people, and I have a host sister who is 17, named Line, so I have like a live in friend, or I’m like the live in friend.
On the other hand it is now the 4th week of school, and I still don’t do anything, though a lot of the teachers like to help out and give me work I can do, but the thing is that it doesn’t matter if I actually do it or not because I can be a part of the discussion anyways since its in Danish. I’m still REALLY fed up with not knowing Danish, its really irritating, but everyone understands that its like the hardest language to learn. I know ill get there eventually, but I don’t want to wait! All of my classmates are still very help full, the other weekend I went shopping in Herning, the next town over, with my friends Rebekka and Sabine; it was nice to feel like I had friends outside of school. And now I spend all my time texting, or on facebook with my new classmates, and new exchange student friends. Everything here is great! I’m still loving every minute of it, and I’m not homesick yet life is really good. And I can’t believe it’s already been a month, I really can’t.
Love
Chandler



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Columbia, USAColumbia, USA
Columbia, USA

Sebastian
giant boygiant boy
giant boy

art museum
AmericansAmericans
Americans

last night :(
Americans!Americans!
Americans!

parttyyy :)
KIWIS!KIWIS!
KIWIS!

new zealanders :)
friendsfriends
friends

Rebekka og lotte
school friendsschool friends
school friends

Stinne og maria
schoolschool
school

Ulrik og Morten
:):)
:)

Sabine


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb