School Started!


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Midtjylland » Aarhus
August 16th 2009
Published: August 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

DSCN0608DSCN0608DSCN0608

Ocean on the west coast
So I have been here for 2 weeks. A little longer. And it’s still amazing and so surreal. I have experienced some home sickness and I do miss everyone so so much. But once school started it made everything so much easier. Life here is so easy. So normal, and I’m already a part of the family I’m with, who I have to leave in 2 weeks. But I’m up for the challenges that face me. So as for what’s been going on, the biggest would have to be that school started! I’m in second year which is WAY cool because all the other exchange students in my school (3 others) are in first year, but apparently I was too clever. So school starting has so far been the best thing for me, I was really starting to get down, missing everyone, my home, but now, I want nothing more then to be here. The first day was scary, I mean going to a new school is one thing, but I don’t even speak the language here yet, and so it was a whole different story. Once I got to my first class, which happened to be English, thank god, I
DSCN0607DSCN0607DSCN0607

built during WWII by the germans
instantly felt better because the kids took me in so fast. By the end of the class I already had friends, and people wanted to know me. Of course chemistry was embarrassing because the teacher made me teach the class for 15 minutes and everything I thought I knew about chemistry wasn’t in my brain anymore! But it was all okay! As it turns out, when I got home that day I ended up with like 11 friend requests on face book, and people were texting me already! The rest of the week went by so fast, but it was so great to just have the chance to start my own pattern here. My life was actually starting since its been on somewhat of a stand still. Classes are really boring for me though, they are taught in Danish, the lessons are in Danish, and I cant really be apart of any of the discussions because I have no idea what’s going on, but everyone in my class helps me out, translates note and keeps me entertained! I never thought id be so happy to start school and have friends. So other then school no much has happened, I went
DSCN0600DSCN0600DSCN0600

Ocean is 1 hour from me
to a pro soccer game, and a rotary meeting, which was boring too, I’m sure it would have been interesting, if I spoke Danish. As every day goes by I realize that’s the worst part. Not understanding, because I can only be a part of anything if it’s being directed to me. And that sucks, because I want so much for people to realize how interested in their life I am, and how much I want to know them. But ill get there eventually. So now that I’ve started school everything is starting. This past weekend I went to my current families’ summer house, and it was just beautiful. On the ocean and just soo cute! I was in a little town called Lemvig, and then we traveled to the west coast, the closest ill be getting to America, anytime soon. It was so incredibly windy though! Haha since I’ve been here I’ve only had one tragic thing happen, my computer melted. It was sooo upset about it, but I’m lucky to have such a wonderful dad he sent me a new one and I had it 3 days later  and I also broke my toe, but that’s no
DSCN0599DSCN0599DSCN0599

yeahhh
big deal! Haha just needed some tape and I’m all good. Hockey starts on Tuesday, and I have language school next week, so much more interesting stuff to come! In the end I still absolutely love it here, and don’t even want to think that I only have a year to enjoy it 
Love,
Chandler



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

DSCN0597DSCN0597
DSCN0597

Ancient stairs.
DSCN0586DSCN0586
DSCN0586

Its so beautiful
DSCN0602DSCN0602
DSCN0602

light housee
DSCN0604DSCN0604
DSCN0604

old building.


18th August 2009

Hey
Enjoy EVERY second, before you know it, it's already over - sad but true! Miss you!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb