4 Days in Copenhagen


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
June 27th 2017
Published: June 28th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I stopped in Copenhagen on a series of hops from the States to South Africa, since flights were cheap.

There's no shortage of pretty buildings and "sites," but I was secretly relieved when it started pouring after 20 minutes of the free walking tour, so I had an excuse to bow out without having to hear any more about various pieces of a chess board, or about the paths of the city's many fires.

Since it's supposed to be one of the most livable places in the world and home to the happiest people, I decided that my time and money would be better spent walking to different neighborhoods, eating and drinking at a long list of cafes.

People also seem to spend quite a lot of time in the city's fairly expansive network of parks- picnics with a bottle of wine seems like a nice alternative to the expensive restaurants.

On my runs through the parks, the best of which was Churchill Park, I passed the Little Mermaid statue and tried to fathom the hordes of tourists on the "mermaid tour." I passed Hans Christian Anderson's grave in Assistens Kirkegard - the nicest cemetery I've ever
Mark Cuban's yachtMark Cuban's yachtMark Cuban's yacht

The Fountainhead. What an ass.
seen, complete with manicured walking paths, it was more like a forest with some tombstones than like a cemetery.

It's definitely worth it to travel to the more diverse and cheaper surrounding neighborhoods. I met for a drink with my friend Soren, who I traveled with a bit in Bolivia, and his neighborhood of Norrebro has a deep footprint from recent refugees. To the southeast, there is a hippie community called Christiana with all sorts of substances sold at outdoor stands. To the west, behind the train station is Istedgade Street, an interesting walk back in time to the age of sex shops and street prostitutes.

There are more photos below.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Bikes at the train stationBikes at the train station
Bikes at the train station

It costs $2000 for a license and car taxes are over 100% the cost of the vehicle, so there are a lot more bikes than cars in the streets, and hardly any vehicle noise or pollution.
Restaurant in ChristianshavnRestaurant in Christianshavn
Restaurant in Christianshavn

I had a terrific plate of herring with eggs and onions, and rye bread here.


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb