Copenhagen in a Nutshell


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
April 23rd 2015
Published: April 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

The beginning to the day yesterday was beyond perfect.

I was awake earlier than normal and decided it would be nice to make the short walk to the bakery on the corner about 200m from the hostel.

I took my number, waited in line (it's like 8:30am, but they opened at 5am and I'm sure have been busy since then!) and ordered my cappuccino and whatever a traditional Danish breakfast pastry would be. The lady behind the counter laughed and said she'd think about it while she made the coffee.

I ended up with a round pastry with icing around the edges and a cream filled centre... Honestly one of best things I've ever had for breakfast, seriously. I walked back to the hostel with my purchase and ate and drank on a bench by the pond; the perfect start to the morning of you ask me.

That day, I had a more solid plan of what I wanted to do, or at list of things I wanted to see/do before the end of the day.

I opted wisely for the bus to the city centre, and was picked up also just down the street from the bakery. I was downtown in no time and ready to start my adventure for the day, much less exhausted then walking would have left me!

I got off right in front of the entrance to Tivoli, the amusement park right in the heart of Copenhagen. I checked the entrance fee and hours (they didn't open for a bit), and then headed to the national museum which turned out to be just around the corner.

Another episode of positive 'just my luck' later, and I'm in for free and exploring mostly prehistoric Denmark because the place was huge and I didn't want to spend all day inside when it was such a beautiful day once again.

I mingled with bog bodies, thousands of silver coins and fragments of hunting weapons that were incredibly old. Something about museums and old stuff is just so fascinating to me, and I'm sure many others as well. Just to think about how life was and what people back then would think of us looking at their stuff nowadays... I don't know, it's just cool.

I did wander quickly through some Renaissance exhibitions and a Modern Danish history section, and then continued on to find the next highlight of my day.

It's hard for me to remember and distinguish what I did yesterday and what I did today because I left this so late... So I apologize for that!

I believe I continued down the street to the palace of Copenhagen next, because what is a trip to a capital city without checking out the place where the royalty wants you to think they live, but don't really spend anytime in?!

It was mildly impressive compared to that of the other cities, but Denmark is known more for its castles outside of the capital, one of which I visited today!

Actually what really happened next was that I went to explore the super weird and super cool free state of Chistiania situated just south of the city centre and across a canal. This place was crazy interesting. My understanding is they have a mutual agreement with the government/police and all sales of hash and marijuana is legalish. But what's cool is that the people that live there don't pay rent and completely make there living in that community. It was cool to wander through but slightly sketchy so I didn't spend too much time in there and stuck with the other tourists going through. I actually did get some really cool jewellery in there too from this really nice guy; so enjoy that to those that get it 😊

THEN, I made my way back to the centrum, all the way looking for food, I opted to eat out for lunch today instead, in order to try the traditional open-faced lunch sandwich dubbed Smørrebrød. I passed this place offering a 3-piece Smørrebrød and Tuborg (the other national beer) for 75- which I initially passed up, and then turned back to, aha.

It was super good, maybe not the most filling, but you have to try it if you're here. It was basically three mini bruschetta, but topped with different sandwich items. One was hardboiled egg and tomato, one was a lunch meat mayo and these crispy things which as super good but I don't know the exact identity of (they also come on your typical street meat Pølser too), and then one that was similar to the last but different meat. The beer was also decent too... I think beer in general is starting to
Cool graffiti Cool graffiti Cool graffiti

The only picture I was able to take in Christianis... Picture are forbidden in some places in the settlement.
grow on me, though I still definitely prefer the fanta that I'm currently drinking 😊

I then proceeded to wander into a Stockman like department store, and then proceeded to exit after looking at the price of one item! Geez, everything is expensive here!

I strolled up and down the main walking path which also doubled as the main shopping strip. I wandered in and out of stores looking at shoes and such, bought a few postcards and was on my way. My last stop of the day was back at Tivoli.

I payed my entrance fee (no rides for this guy) and wandered around the wonderland. It was truly a pretty amazing place considering it's plopped right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the city. There were a ton of rides but also a ton of restaurants, beautiful trees and plants, and some really cool architectural features. I even caught a free gymnastics show on the open air stage that started with an old timers group and then a much younger kids group. An entertaining end to the day for sure.

The bus ride back to the hostel was nice on my feet after another long day of walking, and I quickly stopped for some ice cream at the bakery before they closed... Yes this bakery is basically the best place ever. Now a must on the checklist for every future hostel is close proximity to a bakery, it's been decided !

I went down to the kitchen back at the hostel, cooked up my hot dogs and tossed my salad for dinner and the sat and ate while checking up on Peterborough life.

It was that time again to do some online testing for the keg and I had some troubles initially logging on and submitting my answers, but everything turned out ok, and I passed... Eventually, lol.

After some coffee and a shower, it was off to bed for some sleep before my last full day exploring in Europe!

- NB


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

BeautyBeauty
Beauty

Inside tivoli gardens


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb