one month in!


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
February 22nd 2009
Published: February 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I realised today that it's been exactly one month since I arrived in Denmark. Argh! I can't believe how quickly it's gone. I feel like I've only just got here, but then again it also feels like I've been here for a lifetime. The people I've met so far are amazing, including my host family who are gorgeous; they are so polite and kind. The rotary kids are fantastic; so easy to get along with and we have a lot in common. The Danish people I've met are generally easy-going and open, a lot like Australians. They are all so skinny though! I don't know how they stay in shape though, they eat so much food, especially carbs!
I went clubbing on friday for the first time and stayed at Elisa's house. Her host mum is gorgeous. She cooked us a massive fry-up in the morning when we woke up which definitely hit the spot.
I've been going to language school for a week, and have another full week to go. The language isn't as bad as I first thought it was, but the worst bit is definitely how fast they speak and trying to pronounce things correctly. They speak so fast that a ten-word sentence sounds like three words... seriously! It's crazy.
Peter (my counsellor) said I can go to Roskilde festival (think Southbound, but with 175 bands over 3 days (plus 5 days of warm up, and over 75,000 people), so I am SO STOKED! It looks amazing. Coldplay and Slipknot are both confirmed, as well as a few Nordic bands I haven't heard of. Argh I'm SO SO SO EXCITED!!!!
There's been a lot of snow lately which is really pretty, but it's started to melt a little which makes it really gross to walk in the streets cos your shoes get soaked. Bad idea to wear uggboots. Sick one Kate.
On Tuesday I'm giving a presentation to my Rotary club on myself and Australia.
I'm starting to miss home a little bit, but still loving it here. I've definitely caught the travel bug- I don't want to come home, I want to travel everywhere!
Good luck to everyone who starts uni this week 😊
Miss you all.
Love, Kate
xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb