Day 8


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
May 22nd 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This was out last day together, and we spent the morning driving back to Copenhagen. We dropped off my large bag at DIS so I could walk there the next day with my traveling bag, we checked into the CABINN, and returned the car. We got on some of the free city bikes to explore what was left of the city. Mom wanted to see Hotel D'Angleterre by Kongens Nytorv, and she said it was very elegant although I stayed outside to enjoy the weather. We made our way to Christiania, which I would love to read more about. From my understanding, it is its own state as of the 60's that Denmark allowed as a social experiment. They have their own judicial and educational system, and the buildings are all covered with bright paint and graffiti. It is very unique and a different experience altogether from the rest of Copenhagen. We had dinner at Wagamama, which Mom and I both love, and headed to Tivoli to see what all the hype is about. We didn't know that you had to buy a separate pass for the rides, so we just walked around. We saw a pantomime show, and the dancers were all very good. It was a strange plot, but I had heard that the Danes have a strange sense of dark humor, so I was not too shocked to see a vampire in the form of a chicken killing hunters and break-dancers. I hope to post a video here, but the uploads have not been working properly. We went back to the hotel early, because I was tired. I went to bed extremely early and Mom and I woke up at 7:30ish. Mom left for the airport, and I headed off to DIS to meet my fellow students and find out where I would be living.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb