The End of My Summer in Copenhagen


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
August 27th 2007
Published: August 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

As I remember it, I arrived Sunday evening to boohs and hisses for being kissed by the sun and having a GREAT weekend. I redrew my 1:1 scale drawing so that it matched my chair perfectly and went home from studio fairly early that night to prepare for my presentation the next afternoon.
Throughout the next day I was nervous and couldn't stop reciting the first sentence of my presentation. I borrowed a friends bike to go home to get this one drawing that was probably totally unnecessary. In any case, it was the one and only time I rode a bike in Copenhagen and I remember it as an enjoyable relaxing moment if anything.
Coming up to my presentation time I stopped being nervous and just got excited! I got excited to talk about my chair and present it in front of the two Danish designers and to let them sit on it. After presenting our chairs we had to carry them to a photographing room to be immortalized with us sitting on them. Those photos will be on the DIS website for everyone to look at for years to come.
After the next day of presenting we had a DIS show of all the art and design students' work. Glass sculptures, chairs, billowing fabric, and model buildings were displayed in a very large tall room with a glass ceiling. It was a great end to the program that kinda extended into the next night. We just couldn't leave the place. Not that we were there for 48 hours straight, it's just that everyone came back the next night in the hopes of some more memory making.
The rest of the week was a crashcourse of Copenhagen's city sites and late nights with all the great people I met, delicious dinners, long walks, and lots of fun just like in the beginning of the program. And that was my summer in Copenhagen!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

the mermaid!the mermaid!
the mermaid!

the sculptor's wife sat in as the body for the mermaid.
the showthe show
the show

with our chairs, textile majors' textiles, and the glass majors' sculptures.
71 furniture design students71 furniture design students
71 furniture design students

in helsinki, middle of july. oh how i'll miss them and this great summer.


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0873s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb