Chair Making Progress (From the last time I posted up until August 8th)


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
August 14th 2007
Published: August 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Furniture BBQFurniture BBQFurniture BBQ

We had these almost every night of the first week because of all the woodscrap we summed up by the end of every hard day's work.
First of all, sorry that I haven't posted in a while. Minus the fact that this entire website was down for about 2 weeks, I have been pretty busy. Busy finishing up my chair, busy going to Ibiza, busy preparing for presentations...
Where to begin?
The machines in the woodshop here were amazing. At Pratt, many of our machines are very old and donated, abused and not very well taken care of. At first, I was slightly scared (hah) to get to work 1) because my design was still being revised two days after working in the woodshop began and 2) because the brand new machines were so intimidating. Although, as soon as Lars or Gummi taught me how to use a machine once, I was able to use them on my own immediately without fear. They knew I really wanted to have a back on my chair and so they offered me extra wood from the assigned amount as a 21st birthday present. The X wasn't having it though. It had spoken and said it wanted to stand alone. So the next week and a half I worked on making the two X's for the legs, 4 cross bars, making
Lars helping me with my cross barsLars helping me with my cross barsLars helping me with my cross bars

Lars and Gummi worked like madmen during the two weeks of fabrication. They were in the shops from 7am till 10pm every single day constantly helping us, guiding us, trying to figure out what in the world we are doing. Everyone was always soooo thankful for their help and Lars would always just say "Thank you DIS for bringing Lars into my life." or sometimes "Lars is the best."
a jig for the seat and a lot of dowel jointing, gluing, clamping, sanding, and soap-sanding. Oh yeah, and we used maple, a beautiful, strong, light-colored wood and were restricted to a 5 foot long by 8 inch wide and 1 1/2 inch thick plank of it.
I don't know if you guys read the captions to the photos I post but they may be more informative and energetic than I can write right now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

My sitting on Hans Christian Andersons lapMy sitting on Hans Christian Andersons lap
My sitting on Hans Christian Andersons lap

This would be Saturday, August 4th. Seemingly uneventful, I strolled through downtown with a bunch of friends (strolling through cities is probably one of my most favorite pastimes). This statue of H. C. is just across from Tivoli.
LergravsparkenLergravsparken
Lergravsparken

The beach!!! We had great weather last week..and it's still very nice actually. That is Melissa to the left and David up ahead.
Pieces of my chairPieces of my chair
Pieces of my chair

That's Bjørli and Lars in the background.
Frankenchair!!!Frankenchair!!!
Frankenchair!!!

The seat had warped slightly so I had to clamp every corner down and more. Gummi said "It is the Scandinavian way, just force it."


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb